Blog Tour · book blogger

BLOG TOUR: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren

Review Time (16)

Release Date: 7th September 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury’s Children
Goodreads
Amazon

I am overjoyed to be bringing you this review today as part of a blog tour for Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren, set up by the wonderful Faye Rogers. This is a Middle Grade fantasy book that is described as a mixture between Frozen and Brave, which are two of my favourite Disney films so I was super excited to read this gem!

Review Time (12)

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside. No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

Review Time (13)

Okay, I am definitely going to start off with the amazing scenery in this book. The descriptions of an icy, winter wonderland are truly beautiful if a bit chilling. Haha, yes I think I’m funny. Anyway, I love the setting and can almost feel the cold through the pages of the book. The fact that all of the characters have to wear fur in order to stay warm really gives you a sense of the bitterness of the harsh weather. It made me really want a faux fur coat!

Next up, let me tell you about the characters as this story is mainly character driven. First, we have Valor our main character who is a twin to Sasha. Both girls have been in a little bit of trouble with the law in this story but the most striking thing about them both is their relationship. I don’t have a sister myself, but when I read this book I wanted one. The bond between the two girls is really uplifting and Valor’s love for Sasha is serious sisterly goals.

We also have characters such as Feliks and Katia who are fiercely loyal and protective of their friends. I feel like they are a representation of the class system in this book. So you don’t realise how entitled Valor really is until you meet Feliks in his rags and with his dirty face, having to steal food to get by. I know this is a weird thing to bring up about an MG book, but I think it is good to get that point across about how lucky we are to have things like food and shelter etc.

We have shady Prince Anatol who isn’t what he seems and Nicolai and Natalia in the mix too. You’ll have to read the book to find out more about those characters though!

Now for the plot! So, Sasha has been imprisoned for stealing a Music Box from the royal family, now at first you’re really unsure as to why the music box is so special. Valor, being the loving sister she is, wants to help Sasha escape from the prison but in order to do that, she has to actually get inside…so she decides to *ahem* attempt to murder the Prince. She is then inside the prison and trying to find a way to get her and her sister out of there and uncover a royal mystery.

I read this book in one sitting and was gripped by the entire World and characters within it! I may point out here that I don’t generally enjoy MG books, but this one has something special about it. You must read this book simply for the ending!


Review Time (11)

Amazing setting, characters and a gripping MG book!

Review Time (14)

Review Time (17)

Ruth Lauren.png

Ruth Lauren lives in the West Midlands in England with her family and a lot of cats. She likes chocolate, walking in the woods, cheese, orchids, going to the movies, and reading as many books as she can. She’s been a teacher and worked in lots of different offices, but she likes writing best. Prisoner of Ice and Snow is her debut novel.

Website: https://www.ruthlauren.com/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ruth__lauren

Instagram: www.instagram.com/ruth_lauren

 

 

Review Time (15)

You have the chance to WIN a copy of this book! All you have to do is live in the UK, follow me on twitter and RT the tweet below! Ends Saturday 16th September, 2017. Winner will be picked and contacted on Sunday 17th!

Screenshot 2017-09-09 at 4.51.01 PM.png

Don’t forget to check out all of the other stops on this icy tour!

Monday 4th September

Bookish Outsider

Hux Tales

Tuesday 5th September

YA Under My Skin

Book Lover Jo

Wednesday 6th September

PowisAmy

Kirstyes

Thursday 7th September

Library Girl and Book Boy

OBC Mini Reviewers

Friday 8th September

A Bookish Life Blog

Bart’s Bookshelf

Saturday 9th September

Tales of Yesterday

The Book Moo

Sunday 10th September

Rachel Bustin

The Bibliophile Chronicles

Monday 11th September

Minerva Reads

Golden Books Girl

Tuesday 12th September

Live Otherwise

Luna’s Little Library

Wednesday 13th September

An Awfully Big Adventure

Mum Friendly

Thursday 14th September

Emma’s Bookery

Miss Cleveland is Reading

Friday 15th September

Bibliobeth

A Little but a Lot

 

Saturday 16th September

With Love for Books

Get Kids into Books

Sunday 17th September

Linda’s Book Bag

Fantastic Book Dragon

Blog-tour-graphic

Thank you for visiting The Book Moo and don’t forget to come back for even more bookish content including, Netflix Addictions, Tuesday Talks, Bookish Updates and even more blog tours!

Agony Aunt Mel (1)

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s