book blogger

TUESDAY TALKS: Least favourite or ugly covers

Tuesday Talks (13)

Don’t forget that you can find previous Tuesday Talks posts right here.

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This segment is, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

Least favourite or ugly covers

I feel like this topic is slightly negative but then again, this is my own opinion about these covers. Not everyone’s opinions are the same so please don’t kill me for naming some of my least favourite covers.

The cover of The Whispers of the Fallen by J.D Netto has an eerie feel to it which I respect but it looks a little drab and not very striking in my eyes.

Big Fish by Daniel Wallace is a book I really did not like and I ranted about it forever but the cover doesn’t really inspire me either. The font, the imagery is just a no no.

As for Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee, I was disappointed more than anything with this cover! There are so many beautiful versions of its predecessor, To Kill A Mockingbird, and they chose this hazard light orange colour to match it? I like the imagery and font but they could have chosen a more fitting colour and also it was a huge hardback, which in the UK, doesn’t have a matching cover to my knowledge.

Finally, I chose Tales of Mystery and Imagination by Edgar Allan Poe, which I got a copy of from my local library. I understand the creepy cover, but the blue band with the title at the top makes it look like a textbook. Those really old textbooks that even your nan probably remembers. I can gladly say they’ve released a beauty of an updated cover, so no love lost here.

What about you?

Agony Aunt Mel

Leave a Reply

