book blogger · Tuesday Talks

TUESDAY TALKS: Your go to Genre when you are in a reading slump…

Tuesday Talks (4)

Don’t forget that you can find previous Tuesday Talks posts right here.

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This segment is, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.


And this week’s topic is:

Your go to genre when you’re in a reading slump…

I did a post about reading slumps and how to get out of them that you can see here. Plus, here are some rec’s for getting you out of the pit of doom.

For me, this definitely has to be a short YA contemporary to bring me back down to Earth. If I try to attempt fantasy or engross myself in a series whilst in a reading slump, I would fall even further into the abyss of no reading.

I need a simple contemporary story that is under 300 pages and easy to read. I think contemporary not only brings me to Earth, but also makes me feel like steady if that makes sense? Like okay, I can deal with this because I have either experienced it before or heard/read about something like this in the news.

It pulls me out of the slump and gets me boosted because it hasn’t taken me forever to read it either with it being a short book.

What about you?

agony-aunt-mel

7 thoughts on “TUESDAY TALKS: Your go to Genre when you are in a reading slump…

Leave a Reply

