book blogger · Bookish Update

Bookish Update #5

confessions-of-a-2

This is a quick update before Dewey’s 24-hour readathon takes place next weekend. Hopefully, after that, I will have loads to tell you about reading-wise.

review-time-7 34536615

I have just finished reading The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. This was a reread for me and I enjoyed it just as much as last time and took in a lot more than I did last time! I learned more this time around and it made me really excited for the seUltimate Comics X-Men, Volume 1: Rebornquel, A Ship Beyond Time.

I have also just finished Ultimate Comics Xmen: Reborn by Nick Spencer and co. I have
developed an obsession for graphic novels lately and cannot get enough of the Marvel World! I have always loved the Xmen and Avengers films so to read the graphic novels was a real treat to me. I borrowed some from my library but because their selection isn’t great, a friend lent me a ton of them, I’m hooked!

review-time-6

33195435

My current read is The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig. I’m around 80 pages in so far and love the dynamics of the crew and feel like I know the characters really well now. The main thing I’m loving at the moment is the intricate historical anX-Men: With Great Powerd mythical details. So far, I’m loving it!

My current graphic novel read
is Xmen: With Great Power by Victor Gischler. The mix of Spiderman with all of our Xmen faves is amazing. Also, a totally under-rated character is in it, Gambit! I love Gambit and his powers and think he is so under appreciated and represented in the Marvel films. Apparently, he is getting his own film soon though YAY!

review-time-8Doing It!: Let's Talk About SexNext up, I’ll be reading Doing It: Let’s Talk About Sex by Hannah Witton as part of The Book Club’s book of the month for May. I’ve heard that this isn’t a typical YouTuber book apparently so that’s nice to hear that it’s not the norm as if you couldn’t guess from the title!

I have a funny and embarrassing story about this book… So I received this book from Wren & Rook as part of The Book Club and I unwrapped the proof like OOO it’s beautiful! My mum saw it and asked me what it was about, I was mortified and just said oh I’m not sure. But my boyfriend thought it was hilarious to rob it off my bookshelf one night and run downstairs and show my mum! That isn’t the worst part…

She opened it and saw diagrams inside of sexy bits and was turning the book around to look and she was like “oo-er it looks a bit funny like”

So erm it was awkward! Anyway…

What are you currently reading? What are you planning to read next? Tell me in the comments!

agony-aunt-mel

Leave a Reply

