book blogger · Writing

Meetings…

Confessions of a (1)

You may be wondering what the hell I mean by ‘meetings’ for this post, well, I was inspired by Grace Latter’s post about writing which you can read here. I decided to do this little activity to test myself and see how many different meetings I could think of to write about. Without further ado, here are my attempts. Let me know what you think in the comments or even tweet me @TheBookMoo

Mother & Child

That moment of seeing your eyes for the first time. The way you looked up at me as the midwife placed you into my arms. Everything around me drowned drastically as all that mattered to me in the World was you, laying in my arms, screaming to high heaven that you had been taken from your warm, dark and comfortable place. I could no longer hear the machine’s beeping, the buzzing fluorescent lights, smell the chemically clean floors. Because you were my everything.


Grandparents

It seems funny now that we met in a park, how old fashioned we are. Our daughter met her husband in the pub and our grandson met his girl in the cinema! Of all places, a dark silent room! Then again, they actually met on the line, what’s it called again? The Facebook is it? Aye, but we didn’t have that in our day. You had to actually get up off your arse and go out to meet people.

Oh, Jimmy and I met in the summer of 1958 at the local village Carnival in the park. It was a glorious day, the sun was shining, the grass had been cut and everyone had a smile on their face. I was with the girls and had just bought myself some candyfloss when I felt your breath on my neck.

“A lady shouldn’t be buying her own candyfloss, that’s what gentlemen are for.”

“Oops too late!” I countered as I turned to face you. You had a cheeky grin on your face, one that I haven’t been able to get rid of since then. Your green eyes took in my face, my hair, my eyes and finally my lips. That’s when I knew we were both in trouble.


Man & Divorce Lawyer

I was incredibly nervous when I noticed the posh sign on your office door. I remember thinking, how did I even get here? One minute it seemed that me and Kelly were happily married and then the next we were at each other’s throats. Married only a year, a bloody year. How do some people make it all the way to their Golden anniversary and we just about scraped it to the paper one?!

It was at this point that I noticed that you’d opened the door and stood staring at my goldfish-like face before gesturing for me to come inside your office. Oh, what a great first impression to make eh?

“So Mr. Gardner, how can I be of service to you today?” your politeness put me at ease. It made me feel like I had made the right decision. There was no judgment in your stare and you genuinely wanted to help me, even if that meant lining your own pockets in return. Just before the moment became awkward, I plucked up the courage to answer you without sounding like an idiot.

“Unfortunately Mr. Hedderly, I am seeking your services in order to divorce my wife.”


Long lost friends

Okay, so why were you even in McDonald’s? I thought you’d turned into a diet pill, gym freak in the years that we’d lost touch. Like it was so awkward meeting you again whilst I ordered my cheeseburger happy meal…including a strawberry milkshake. You were oh-so-cool ordering your “Just a black coffee, a chicken wrap and side salad to go please.” I wanted to crawl into myself and die there and then, when…

“Oh Olivia, is that you? It has been wayyy too long hasn’t it?”

Oh great, now I had to act like I’d grown up in the eight years we hadn’t seen each other, whilst trying to shamefully ignore the lady trying to thrust the cardboard box with ‘Golden M’ handles into my grasp.

“Zoe? Is that you? I didn’t see you there!” I lied through my teeth. “How are you?”

“I’m great, thank you. What are you doing with yourself lately?” Who even talks like that? She sounded like my Uncle John after a few wines at the mandatory annual family party.

“Oh I am so sorry Zoe but I must dash, I have a hair appointment in half an hour! We must meet up again soon, Ciao for now, Mwah!” What was wrong with me?! Did I really have to go all out with my posh superiority voice? What a reunion from hell.


Okay so I’m not too sure with that last one, I think I went a bit OTT but oh well! Let me know what you think in the comments below and feel free to do your own post!

Ciao for now, mwah! 🙂

agony-aunt-mel

Leave a Reply

