book blogger · Review time

REVIEW TIME: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

Review Time

Release Date: 6th April 2017
Publisher: MacMillan
Goodreads
The Book Depository

review-time-29

Sometimes I feel like everyone else was handed a copy of the rules for life and mine got lost.
Grace has Asperger’s and her own way of looking at the world. She’s got a horse and a best friend who understand her, and that’s pretty much all she needs. But when Grace kisses Gabe and things start to change at home, the world doesn’t make much sense to her any more.
Suddenly everything threatens to fall apart, and it’s up to Grace to fix it on her own.

Whip-smart, hilarious and unapologetically honest, The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas is a heart-warming story of one girl trying to work out where she fits in, and whether she even wants to.


review-time-27

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

Screenshot 2017-04-02 at 11.20.07 AM.png

I feel like this book was heartfelt, truthful and every day. I know that sounds strange but let me explain. It was heartfelt because I really connected with the main character, Grace, emotionally because you could feel her struggle of trying to act ‘normal’ and trying to get social situations correct. How do I act? How should I reply? How should my face look during this conversation?

I don’t know the ins and outs of autism because there are so many different aspects and everyone is different, so it was really interesting to read from a truthful, own voices perspective in this book. I also loved the every day feeling to this book, like we were with Grace every single day and felt what it would be like for her in everyday situations such as a classroom or walking down the street or in a park.

I need to interrupt myself here and give a major shout out to our Mabel. What a beaut. I loved the relationship between Grace and Mabel *cough* even if she is a horse. We should never underestimate the power of a relationship with animals and the calming effect that they can have on us humans. I think Grace felt at home and in control when she was with Mabel.

Speaking of relationships, I must mention Gabe and Anna. What amazing friends who not only care but totally get Grace in all of her glory. The simple fact that Anna says HB instead of Happy Birthday, knowing that Grace hates the whole day and the words that go with it, is a signal of best friend brownie points. Also, Gabe gives me hope for humanity. I hope more people begin to understand others and situations and just generally diversity, like Gabe does. He doesn’t give a shit that Grace is autistic, he doesn’t give a shit that she isn’t sure how to deal with social situations, he doesn’t give a shit that she is a Doctor Who mega geek. He just gets the fact that everyone is different and that is okay, life would be boring if we were all the same carbon copies of one another. Okay, this could turn into a rant so I give you permission to leave this page now.

I forgot to talk about Leah! Oh jeez, I’ll be here forever so let’s just say Leah is a babe. A teenage mess but a babe nonetheless.

The ending to this book is not only satisfying but leaves you content and happy. You kind of feel like everything has been rounded off but it’s still as if life will roll on for Grace and co. and I would be happy to read more about the state of Grace in the future 🙂


review-time-31

I highly recommend this short, truthful and interesting read. 

review-time-28

agony-aunt-mel

One thought on “REVIEW TIME: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

Leave a Reply

