book blogger · Review time

REVIEW TIME: The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

Review Time-5.jpg

Release Date: 2nd March 2017
Publisher: Scholastic
Goodreads
The Book Depository

review-time-29

The final battle is coming . . .

As the Sleeping Prince tightens his hold on Lormere and Tregellan, the net closes in on the ragged band of rebels trying desperately to defeat him. Twylla and Errin are separated, isolated, and running out of time. The final battle is coming, and Aurek will stop at nothing to keep the throne forever . . .

Explosive, rich and darkly addictive, this is the stunning conclusion to Mel Salisbury’s internationally best-selling trilogy that began with The Sin Eater’s Daughter.


review-time-27

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

Screenshot 2017-03-25 at 12.18.41 PM.png

I feel like I can’t let go of this series after investing so much time and emotion into it. I really don’t want to let go of all my favourite characters and the heartache, betrayals, love and loss.

Melinda Salisbury is the Queen of Fantasy. She knows just how to weave the World into place and make it as complicated but understandable as possible. This book proves that she is the master of myth and character building.

First up is Twylla, the red-haired, meek turned fiery leader. I have to admit in the first book I wasn’t too keen on Twylla. I thought she was a good character but she just wasn’t my cup of tea…until now. In this book, we see Twylla in a totally new light as she becomes a fiery force to be reckoned with. She is definitely one of my favourite characters in this book along with another amazing lady…

Errin has been a favourite of mine since I first read about her in Book 2, The Sleeping Prince. She has determination and is a badass apothecary that can KILL…muhuhahahaha! I think I just gave you an insight into my Slytherin ways…

Anyway, now for the males in this book. I’ll be brief about them just because I don’t want to spoil everyone for this book…

Despite Lief’s major flaws and treachery in the previous books, I have a soft spot for him in my heart. I think it’s because of my incessant want for the bad boy character in any book ever. He just has a rugged handsomeness to him, despite being an utter knob.

As for Silas, we don’t get to see a lot of him in this book and it makes me sad because he is such a unique character. I definitely missed him in this book.

Overall, the characters are well built and felt like family to me. They also pop up out of nowhere so BEWARE!

I won’t talk about the plot of this book because it can be spoilery for the previous 2 books and I will probably slip up for this one.

I loved the feminist elements of this book, ie – a woman doesn’t need to rely on a man, that we don’t really see in YA.

I could go on forever about this series but I’ll simply say that it has now joined my favourites list and I highly recommend it.


review-time-31

Melinda Salisbury is the Queen.

review-time-28

agony-aunt-mel

3 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury

Leave a Reply

