book blogger · Review time

REVIEW TIME: Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

review-time-38

Release Date: 7th July, 2016
Publisher: Chicken House
Goodreads
The Book Depository

review-time-29

Norah is confined by agoraphobia: for her, the outside is a glimpse of sky. But a chance encounter with Luke, her next-door neighbour, changes everything. Determined to be the girl she thinks Luke deserves – a ‘normal’ girl – Norah’s love and bravery opens a window to unexpected truths.


review-time-27

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 18.53.57.png

Reading this book was like experiencing Agoraphobia for me, someone who has never had to deal with this illness. I obviously don’t know how it feels to be agoraphobic but I feel like after reading this book I have a clear picture of how every day is when you’re confined not only to your house but to yourself. The fear, the anxiety, the frustration immersed me and made me feel like I was actually experiencing this illness. I was up and down and just didn’t know how to feel.

This sounds like a really horrible experience but I am glad that I read this book. Although it wasn’t nice, that was the whole point of it! It’s not supposed to be rose-tainted, it is what it is! People go through this every single day too and that is what made me really think about the ups and downs involved in Norah’s life.

The ending to this book is intense, terrifying and downright creepy! At the same time, I felt like it was a quick fix for agoraphobia and was slightly annoyed that this scary event kind of healed Norah when really it should have made her 10x worse. I know that I was afraid after reading that ending so God only knows what Norah would have felt!

Overall, this book is well worth the read and will make you not only laugh but feel useless and empty but full and just generally all over the place. Read it and see what you think!


review-time-31

The ending is terrifyingly good!

review-time-28

agony-aunt-mel

5 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Under Rose Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

      1. I personally feel like it was really accurate even down to like the small things that most books miss like what happens to your body when in panic or wanting to climb into the smallest space possible etc. I think it was written and handled really well!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

