book blogger · Tuesday Talks

TUESDAY TALKS: Does too much description kill a story?

Tuesday Talks (13).jpg

Don’t forget that you can find previous Tuesday Talks posts right here.

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really segment is, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.


And this week’s topic is:

Does too much description kill a story?

In short, yes. I find that too much description totally kills the mood of a book.

One series that does this ALL THE TIME is the A Song of Ice and Fire series. George R.R Martin is such a famous author now since Game of Thrones was launched as a TV show. Unfortunately, his books are all around 800 pages long and some of those pages are feast descriptions or weather descriptions.

It killed the mood and I was just like okay c’mon, I get the picture there was a lot of rich foods at the feast. Yes I get it the weather was shite, can we move on now?

Overall, I like the scene to be set but don’t give me page upon page of description because I will lose interest!

What about you?

agony-aunt-mel

7 thoughts on “TUESDAY TALKS: Does too much description kill a story?

  1. I really dislike when a Writer goes into excruciating detail about something I already know what it looks like… for example a farmer’s market – dude, I know what one looks like and I don’t need 6 pages describing it! Give me a break! Cute post idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always said I prefer an author who just sketches an outline so I can add the detail and colour it all myself. It’s why I can’t read Jane Austen in pride and prejudice there are 2 pages that just talk about one room (not even an important room) and half that is devoted to a single side table. I often feel like authors do it just to reach some kind of word goal for the day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

        1. It is a bit like that but you have to take like a chill and use the map in the book to work out who’s where and what’s going on with them :’) The major action scenes are really good though! The foreboding is unreal!

          Like

Leave a Reply

