book blogger · Review time · The Book Club

REVIEW TIME: Dramarama by E. Lockhart

review-time-4

Release Date: 9th February, 2017
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Goodreads
The Book Depository

review-time-29

Two theater-mad, self-invented, fabulositon Ohio teenagers.

One boy, one girl.
One gay, one straight.
One black, one white.
And SUMMER DRAMA CAMP.

It’s a season of
hormones,
gold lamé,
hissy fits,
jazz hands,
song and dance,
true love,
and unitards
that will determine their future
and test their friendship.


review-time-27

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-10-36-23

I hate to have to rate books low on Goodreads because not only does it bring their overall rating down but it’s negativity that the World just doesn’t need. With that said, I stay true to my opinion so I won’t rate it highly if I didn’t enjoy it.

Unfortunately, I rated this book only 2 moos. This is basically because I am not a musical enthusiast so I didn’t understand the majority of the references. There are so many musicals mentioned within this book and characters, storylines and songs from the shows. This makes it 10x harder to read if you don’t know many musicals because you don’t understand how important they are to the characters. I found it really off-putting because I felt excluded from the gang of characters who were all so enthusiastic.

I also didn’t like the fact that there are no chapters in the book so you’re stuck trying to find a place to put it down so that you can eat, sleep or go to work. I suppose if I was gripped by the plot then this would be even more encouraging to finish the book but unfortunately, it made it longer with not liking it in the first place.

Now that I’ve been a moody bum and negative head, I’ll finish off with the positives of this book. I thought the relationships within the book were cute, funny and also really light-hearted for once. It’s so hard to find light-hearted relationships in YA nowadays! They’re all so intense!

Overall, I had to rate this book low because I really didn’t like it, but just because it wasn’t for me doesn’t mean it isn’t for you. If you love everything about the theatre, musicals, glitz and glam, then this book is most definitely for you.


review-time-31

For musical enthusiasts but not for me.

review-time-28

agony-aunt-mel

5 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Dramarama by E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

