book blogger · British Books Challenge · Review time

REVIEW TIME: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

review-time-2

Release Date: 5th January, 2017
Publisher: Walker Books
Goodreads
The Book Depository

review-time-29

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.


review-time-27

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

Screen Shot 2017-02-12 at 18.57.22.png

Okay, let me explain myself here…

I loved the diversity in this book, the fact that there are multiple POC character’s is fabulous because let’s face it, you can’t name many YA books like that. So that was a really positive element of this book. With that said, characters are introduced and you get to know them and like them. Then it starts to get tired and monotonous when the diversity is mentioned in every chapter like I’ve forgotten the characters already?! It was a little bit like “HEY LOOK AT ME I’M A DIVERSE BOOK!”

There are plenty more positives to this book so don’t think I didn’t like it! It was an addictive read and kept me picking it up and speed reading it. I thought the characters and connections were very well crafted.

Can I have a bit of respect for LaoLao and Granny Dee here? They were by far my favourite characters because they are HILARIOUS! Proper stereotypical ‘Nan’ characters, their bickering is so funny and they seem like the glue keeping everyone together in this book.

I think the content of this book is controversial and I didn’t want to stick up for Marcus, who is Wing‘s brother, but felt confused like who’s side should I be on? I felt so bitter throughout the book with the content! I’m being ambiguous because I don’t wanna let slip any spoilers!

The journey that Wing takes in this book is beautiful. She goes from being introverted and overshadowed to confident, responsible and recognised. I really liked Wing’s transformation and empowerment, which was only helped by Aaron which I gave brownie points for not being weird with Wing and totally accepting her.


review-time-31

I’d recommend this book for when you have the time.

review-time-28

agony-aunt-mel

4 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Leave a Reply

