book blogger · Tuesday Talks

TUESDAY TALKS: How do you arrange your books?

tuesday-talks-9

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really segment is, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.


And this week’s topic is:

How do you arrange your books?

I have a certain order in some parts of my bookshelves but not in others. For example, all of my series’ have to be in reading order and together on the bookshelf.

Also, I have to put the books I’ve read in the year together. This is so that I have a shelf of all the books I’ve read in that year close to hand and I can see the order I’ve read them in as well as a sense of achievement. It makes me feel like I have read a lot and picks me up when I feel down about my reading progress and goals.

I also keep my standalone books together, split into contemporary and fantasy mostly.

Did this illustrate how much I need to get a life…?

What about you?
Don’t forget that you can find all my previous Tuesday Talks posts right here.

agony-aunt-mel

4 thoughts on “TUESDAY TALKS: How do you arrange your books?

  1. Oh this is such a loaded question lol! So I have 2 shelves, 1 of them contains my favorites PLUS series, so Harry Potter, Robert Langdon, and things like The Help and All the Light We Cannot See. Then I have my larger shelf full of classics, books that were meh, old textbooks from college, and books I have yet to read. Oh plus there’s a cabinet in my dining room full of cookbooks, and books that I’ve just finished and/or bought that haven’t made their way downstairs to my other shelves yet. PLUS, I keep a few essentials in my nightstand: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying up, a book on vitamins, the Bible, and my pocket reference to famous Abraham Lincoln quotes. I work in a library, so you’d THINK I’d be a bit more organized, but alas, I am not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woah, that sounds organised to me! Well done for your amazing organisation abilities! I wish I could organise my shelves at the moment because there’s a pile of books that I bought on the weekend waiting to be put away!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My DVDs are alphabetised and arranged by genre but I’m surprisingly bad at organising books. I think because I don’t have a lot of shelf space they just go where they can fit! I do have one small bookcase which is for my favourites though, and I stack new ones/tbr on top of it.
    Wish I could be as organised as you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See I tried alphabetical but there’s two rows of books on my shelves so E – H where hidden and hard to get to and my favourites weren’t at the front either. I’m running out of room myself, I think I need to upgrade to a library soon!
      It’s more like organised chaos tbh!

      Like

Leave a Reply

