2016 · book blogger

2016 End of Year Book Survey

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

I found this on the lovely Bianca’s blog at The Ultimate Fangirl. Thank You to Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner for starting this brilliant survey. Let’s get started!

giphy-70

reading-stats-2016-1024x278-768x209

Number of Books Read: 53 – I didn’t reach my Goodreads goal of 60! 😦

Number of Re-Reads: Just the 1, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Genre You Read The Most From: Contemporary – However, Fantasy is my favourite. I find Contemporary books tend to be quicker reads so maybe that’s why I read more?

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

  1. Best book you read in 2016

ReadORama Wrap-up! The Sin-Eaters Daughter/The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

ReadORama Wrap-up! A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

ReadORama Wrap-up! Black Heart Blue by Louisa Reid

ReadORama Wrap-up! The Spinster Trilogy by Holly Bourne (Am I Normal Yet?, How Hard Can Love Be? and What’s A Girl Gotta Do?)

ReadORama Wrap-up! This Savage Song – V.E Schwab

ReadORama Wrap-up! Miss Peregrines home for Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

  1. Book you were excited about & thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

daa6c-t5thw

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. It’s not that I didn’t like this book, it just didn’t meet my expectations but it might be to do with the hype surrounding it. I had high expectations going into the read and was disappointed by it then.

  1. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

26052279

Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin surprised me in a really good way. I did not expect to enjoy this book because I don’t read romance or adult fiction because I’m not a soppy so and so, BUT this read was cute and fluffy so I was so surprised to find I enjoyed it.

  1. The book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?

13575642-1

Black Heart Blue by Louisa Reid is a book that I think I managed to push onto several people. I love Louisa’s writing and craftmanship so when I read this book it was heartbreakingly amazing. I made so many people read this and fall in love with Louisa Reid’s style.

  1. Best series you started in 2016? Best sequel of 2016? Best series ender of 2016?

ReadORama Wrap-up! Best series I started this year goes to The Sin Eater’s Daughter series by Melinda Salisbury and This Savage Song by V.E Schwab.

ReadORama Wrap-up! Best Sequel of the year goes to What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne (If that’s classed as a sequel, even though it’s the third book).

ReadORama Wrap-up! Best series ender goes to Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs which is the Miss Peregrines series of books.

  1. Favourite new author you discovered in 2016?

img_0704

V.E Schwab most definitely. I’ve only read This Savage Song and still put V.E Schwab on my mental auto-buy author list! I also met her and she was just so lovely!

  1. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Mind Your Head by Juno Dawson & Dr Olivia Hewett. This is possibly the only non-fiction book I’ve read this year because it is generally not a genre I venture into. This book is fantastic though, as are Juno Dawson’s other non-fiction titles.

  1. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

27973757

The Girl of Ink & Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave seems a strange one to put since it was the last book I read in 2016 and I was trying to finish it in order to reach my Goodreads goal. However, it was a truly unputdownable book in the sense that the action doesn’t finish and most chapters finish with you wanting more. So much happens in this book that I got so excited I began to skim read and then had to go back and re-read the part I’d just finished to take it all in! Honestly WOW.

  1. Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

26052279

Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin because it’s a festive read and also the only Christmas book I own. It’s worth a cute little Christmas re-read this year.

     10.  Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?

29358487

Look at the beauty that is Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs. It is hardback without a dust jacket and has golden bits on it and beautiful illustrations and AHHH! Sexy cover.

      11.  Most memorable character of 2016?

I’ve chosen three most memorable characters for 2016 and they are Evie, Amber and Lottie from The Spinster Trilogy by Holly Bourne. These 3 girls are like friends to me now, I feel like they’re real people. They’re not only realistic but aren’t perfect, they have flaws which are what makes them so real.

  1. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

a9803-26050847

I’m gonna choose The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick because it is so beautiful. Arthur Pepper finds a bracelet belonging to his late wife and decides to investigate the meaning behind each charm. It’s such a beautiful read about grief, life, love and adventure.

  1. Most thought-provoking/ life-changing book of 2016?

28101625

I would say this has to be Nothing Tastes As Good by Claire Hennessy. This was picked as August BOTM for The Book Club and I am so glad! It was truly thought-provoking and change my attitude towards weight and health and how the two don’t always go hand in hand.

  1. Book you can’t believe you waited for UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

Why oh why did I wait this long to read the Miss Peregrine series by Ransom Riggs?! It is fabulously unique and unusual and like nothing I’ve ever read before. Why did I leave it so long?!

  1. Favourite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016?

I have a few from 2016…

“Conor held tightly onto his mother.
And by doing so, he could finally let her go.” – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness


“When you fight for what you believe in, you come across a lot of obstacles. People who don’t agree with you, people who agree with you but only some bits, people who delight in ripping you down, people who are threatened by the strength of your belief.

But I was beginning to realise, the biggest hurdle to overcome was the hurdle of yourself.” – What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne


“China shop rules, Juliet: you break it, you pay for it, and you broke me. You got what you deserved.” – Heart-Shaped Bruise – Tanya Byrne


“Each of us carries the map of our lives on our skin, in the way we walk, even in the way we grow.” – The Girl of Ink & Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

    16. Shortest & longest book you read in 2016?

ReadORama Wrap-up! Shortest – Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

ReadORama Wrap-up! Longest – A Feast for Crows by George R.R Martin

     17. Book that shocked you the most

This is a 3-way tie between No Virgin, Black Heart Blue and Random Acts of Unkindness. All 3 books include very serious content matter and make for really amazing but frightening reads. I won’t mention the content of each book because I don’t wish to spoil any of them but I would highly recommend all 3 for shock factor.

     18. OTP of the year (you will go down with this ship!)

I seem to be mentioning this series a lot in this survey! Emma and Jacob are the cutest couple with a long-distance relationship of around 60-70 years I believe? They give me the feels because their relationship isn’t conventional and stereotypical, it’s unique and like nothing I’ve read before.

     19. Favourite non-romantic relationship of the year

28696452._UY200_

August Flynn & Kate Harker from This Savage Song by V.E Schwab. HALLELUJAH! No romance in a YA book award goes to V.E Schwab! Why does every YA have to have a romance? Just no, stop with the cliches. This Savage Song does perfectly without a romance aspect.

    20. Favourite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously

REVIEW TIME: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I read The Rest of us Just Live Here in 2015 and enjoyed it but not enough to actively read more Patrick Ness, until this one. I am so glad I read this book because my heart melted and I drowned in a puddle of tears too. It’s coming out as a film this year so it’s definitely one to get read ASAP.

     21. Best book you read in 2016 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure:

26236898

I wasn’t too fussed about reading More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera when it first came out because I was put off by the hype surrounding it. However, the girls at The Book Club highly recommended that I read it and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about since I trust their recommendations. I AM SO GLAD I LISTENED!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

28696452._UY200_

August Flynn again because awww. I know this one is a little weird since he isn’t even human, but seriously guys, AUGUST FLYNN IS SO CUTE ❤

   23. Best 2016 debut you read?d94d5-21936988

The best 2016 debut for me was The Sin-Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury because the World that is built up in this book is FAB-U-LOUS! It’s such a unique concept and really incredibly well-built up. Hats off to a fellow Mel for a brilliant job!

   24. Best world building/most vivid setting you read this year?

Since I already answered this with the question above, I’ll pick another brilliant setting.

27973757

The island in this book is built so well that I could imagine every detail of the houses, the streets, the harbour and the Forgotten Territories perfectly. With small maps included in the book, it really set my imagination off on one and created an unbelievable place.

  25. A Book that put a smile on your face/was the most FUN to read?

Lottie is a hilarious character and she made this book so fun! I laughed so much that I cried whilst reading this book, also it made me the feminist I am today.

  26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016?

I don’t think I’ve ever cried so much for fictional characters (except whilst reading The Book Thief).

  27. A Hidden gem of the year?


Nobody talks about this book at all but it is really heartbreakingly good. Major trigger warning before reading this for eating disorders and grief.

  28. Book that crushed your soul?

This book crushed my soul for reasons that I can’t even tell you because SPOILERS! I just want everyone to read this book because it will shatter you into pieces but you will be so glad that you read it!

  29. The most unique book you read in 2016?

I found that The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig was the most unique book I read this year. Time travelling plus pirates equals YASSSS!

  30. A Book that made you the maddest (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?


This book made me so mad because I started reading it and then gave up because of the sheer size of it! Then later in the year, I had a boost of motivation to get it finished and conquered the beast in around a week or just over. I’d been putting it off so long and ended up really enjoying the book! I suppose I made myself mad by doing it!

book-blogging-900x244

1.     New favourite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I discovered the fab Kelly’s Rambles this year and love her posts! Check out her post about Bullet Journals.

2.    Favourite review that you wrote in 2016?

28924805-1

I loved writing my review of What I Couldn’t Tell You by Faye Bird. Not only was it a fab book, I was reviewing it for a blog tour. I’m proud of my review because I feel like it does the book justice.

3.    Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

est-2014

I am so happy with my Booket List post because it was so fun to write and I love the idea of a book bucket list!

4.    Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I think it has to be the V.E Schwab event because she is so lovely and has become one of my favourite authors, even though I’ve only read one of her books!

5.    Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I would probably say becoming a member of The Book Club because those girls are the highlight of my bookish life. They have been subjected to my rants and raves over the past few months and I couldn’t appreciate them enough for it so that has been the best moment of my bookish/blogging life in 2016.

6.    Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life in 2016?

This definitely has to be a work-life balance. I work Monday – Friday and when I get home I have tea and a shower and then I’m deadbeat and don’t feel like doing a thing. So my only reading/blogging time is the weekend really and even then it’s hard to fit in because I spend weekends with my family and don’t want them to feel neglected! That is definitely what I found challenging, a way to juggle relationships, work, looking after myself and blogging.

7.    Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

deweys-24-hour

It has to be Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon. I think everyone is addicted to looking at the next hour and seeing how much others have read to encourage everyone along!

8.    The post you wished got a little more love?

I have two for this. One is my Refreshing Recs posts all about those books that are amazing but you never hear of. Second was my 5 Deadly Sins post because do you know how hard it is to write in the Shakespearean language?!

9.    Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Canva. It’s a graphics editor so I can make all pretty blog post art for free! It’s so simple to use too and saves my design if I ever want to reuse them.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I failed my Goodreads challenge of 60 books. I did manage to finish reading a few of the series’ that I said I wanted to in 2016. That included the Spinster Club series, The Sin-Eater’s Daughter series and the Miss Peregrine series.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1.    One book you didn’t get to in 2016 but will be your number 1 priority in 2017?

32826931

Heartless by Marissa Meyer because my boyfriend bought it for me before Christmas and I still didn’t read it even though I so badly wanted it!

2.   Book you are most anticipating for in 2017 (non-debut)?

32075662 Our Dark Duet by V.E Schwab. After reading This Savage Song I was like GIMME MORE!

3.   2017 Debut you are most anticipating?

32930224

Caraval by Stephanie Garber, WHO IS COMING TO WATERSTONES L1 IN FEBRUARY, AHHH!

4.   Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2017?

Our Dark Duet by V.E Schwab and The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury.

5.   One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2017?

Find that work-life balance and read 60 books this year!

6.   A 2017 release you’ve already read & recommend to everyone:

N/A.


Thank you so much for reading this post and I loved doing this survey! If you did it too, leave me a link in the comments to check out! Thank you for all of your support and here is to a wonderful 2017!

Agony Aunt Mel

6 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Lovely! I have read This Savage Song and it’s very nice novel! If you like Schwab, you should read her other series Shades of Magic. I first read This Savage Song and had a moderate amount of opinions about it. However, Shades of Magic books totally blew my mind!
    So glad you liked the Peculiars series. I tried reading it but, unfortunately, the very first book did not impress me that much. Still, I went to the cinema to see the film ahah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A lot of people have said that the Shades of Magic series is amazing! I need to read it ASAP because the 3rd book comes out in February!
      I wasn’t impressed with the Miss Peregrines film but loved the series 🙂 It gets better with each book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

