2017 · Blogmas · book blogger

Let’s look at 2016…

untitled-design

So, 2016 has been a year of very mixed opinions and it seems like everyone who has ever been famous has left us. I’m gonna look at this year in review and share some of my memories with you! Although a lot of people have talked about 2016  with a lot of negativity, I’d like to share a quote with them and hope that they can view things in a different light…

Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.

Bout of Books TBR

Favourite Post: Resolutions

A new year means new resolutions that everyone gives up on a week in! BUT, I managed to stick to a few of mine, HUZZAH! One was to post 2 reviews on my blog every month and the other to journal more and I achieved both!!! Also I managed to post at least one Tuesday Talks and one Top 5 Wednesday every single month, go me! One resolution I gave up with was BookTube simply because I’ve fallen out of love with it so gave up posting videos as it became a chore! Oh and my Goodreads goal for 2016 still remains to be seen if I’ll reach it, fingers crossed!

I participated in Bout of Books this month but let’s not talk about how I failed it okay?

It’s safe to say January started off the curse of 2016 Celebrity losses, with David Bowie passing away on the 10th, Alan Rickman on the 12th and Terry Wogan on the 31st. This was a massive blow to music, TV and Harry Potter fans across the globe. Will we remember them? Always.


design-1

As you can tell by my face, I’m not too keen on Guinness.

Favourite Post: Blog Tour for The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

February meant my Boyfriend’s birthday and also a nice little half term for me. So being the lovely Girlfriend that I am, I bought us a few little days away to Dublin! This included a trip to the Guinness factory as that is his choice of poison. I loved these few days away and promised myself that I’d go back for a second visit!

I also started my Bullet Journal this month and will never look back. I’ve finally found an organisational system that works for me!

This was a very busy month as I also met multiple authors at signings including Jandy Nelson, Sara Barnard, Lisa Williamson, Cathy Cassidy AND Cecelia Ahern! What a lucky gal I am!

This month brought devastating losses to literature including To Kill A Mockingbird author, Harper Lee (19th) and Louise Rennison (29th) who wrote the amazing Georgia Nicholson series.


Made my way through this mammoth

Favourite Post: Guest Post by Philip Brown

I discovered the ReviewAThon this month and found it incredibly motivating for my blog! I was terrible with keeping up with reviews until now!

This month included Easter and Mothers Day which are brilliant excuses to have gorgeous meals and spoil your mum.

We also said goodbye to comedy legend Ronnie Corbett on the 31st of March.


Received book mail from the lovely Louisa Reid

Favourite Post: Dewey’s 24 hour readathon

I went a little bit crazy this month! Since I get two weeks off work, I decided to join in every readathon possible! Deweys is my absolute favourite that I have to participate in, then there was TBR Takedown as well and Spring Clean Reads AND the AuthorAThon. Like seriously what was I thinking? I did get some major reading done though and was incredibly proud of myself.

I think this month is when people started believing in the curse of 2016, as we lost David Gest (12th), comedienne Victoria Wood (20th) and the one and only Prince (21st).


design-4

A 5 star read!

Favourite Post: Blog Tour for Lying about Last Summer by Sue Wallman

May was a bit of a relaxed month for me, more of a chill and spend time with my family month. I had two christenings to attend, my cousin Oscar’s, and another cousin, Craig’s. Also, this month marked the fifth anniversary of being with my boyfriend, Liam, which meant a cute little meal out together.

I started to write again and composed the beginnings of a story, but I felt incredibly focused and motivated. I also participated in Bout of Books again but please don’t ask again…

I also looked into my genealogy, which is a posh word for family history. I went to Central Library in town and spent hours looking through archives and found out that my great nan ran away to Birkenhead to get married when she was just 14!


design-5

Thank you Maximum Pops!

Favourite Post: 10 Random Facts Tag!

It was as if June decided to make up for a chilled out May and I became BUSY, BUSY, BUSY again. I bought a new car on the 1st of June, naming her Fanny the Fiesta II.

I also went to an Elton John concert with my mum in the Echo Arena in Liverpool. It was amazing to see a man of his age performing like that!

Every June, my local area hosts a Summer Carnival which contains stalls selling crap, rides, candy floss, classic cars and hook-a-duck. It is actually quite fun to see the same faces and traditions being upheld!

This month was also Father’s Day, which again is a fab excuse for a posh meal out and spooling your dad.

My brother was devastated to hear the news that one of his idols, Muhammad Ali passed away on the 3rd of June.


AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Favourite Post: Blog Tour for Random Acts of Unkindness by Jacqueline Ward

The Book Club pick: Am I Normal Yet? – Holly Bourne

Lucky for me, I got a day off this month as the teachers decided to strike! Waheyyy! Talking about work, I also went on an end of year trip with Year 4 to Quarry Bank Mill, which was a fab experience for both the children and me.

I joined in the BookTubeAThon but failed miserably, like always. In other bookish news, The Book Club was created by my fellow Slytherin, Jemima, and we haven’t looked back since!

CURSED CHILD, CURSED CHILD, CURSED CHILD!

Caroline Aherne, who produced and appeared in The Royle Family, passed away this month.


Me chilling with Victoria Schwab…

Favourite Post: Holiday Reading!

The Book Club picks:

Nothing Tastes As Good – Claire Hennessy

More Happy Than Not – Adam Silvera

As you can tell from my Instagram post above, I went to see V.E Schwab in Waterstones L1 and she is absolutely fab. I’ve only read one of her books, This Savage Song, and fell in love with her writing so it was like a must go to event for me. She was so kind and had time to speak to everyone which is so lovely!

I was very proud of myself this month because I gave blood for the first time! It doesn’t sound like a major thing because so many people do it without a second glance but I was nervous because I’ve never had blood taken before and AHHH! But I did it and I’m proud and I will do it again when I’m allowed to.

How could I forget my fantastic holiday to Mexico! Honestly, if you ever get the chance to go, don’t turn it down. It’s a beautiful place with incredibly friendly people and amazing opportunities to see some natural beauties like sinkholes and one of the new 7 wonders of the World, Chichen Itza.

Remember the original and best version of Charlie and the Chocolate factory? Well we lost the fantastic actor, who played Willy Wonka, Gene Wilder on the 28th.


A must read book!

Favourite Post: 5 deadly Sins

The Book Club picks:

Cell 7 – Kerry Drewery

All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

September is the start of the new school year and so it was a totally different journey for me! I moved from Year 4 down to Year 1 AND I LOVE IT! It is hard to come down from teaching column addition to teaching counting to 20 but I absolutely love the new experience and excitement from the children.

Also this month, I met quite a few authors at the Growing Pains event at Waterstones Liverpool 1. They were all Hot key authors so I was incredibly happy because Hot Key are amazing! I met, Claire Hennessy, Laura Dockrill, Jess Vallance and Julie Mayhew.


Please ignore this Dewey’s TBR.

Favourite Post: Birthday Book Haul

The Book Club picks:

Our Chemical Hearts – Krystal Sutherland

Tales – Edgar Allan Poe

OCTOBER THE 11th IS MY BIRTHDAY! WOOP WOOP! So I got majorly spoilt this month, but it is also my brother’s birthday on the 5th and my Nan’s on the 17th so I do some spoiling too. My Nan was 70 too so we had a major surprise party for her and she told us all off! It was hilarious.

It was YAShot this month and although I didn’t attend the event, I still participated in the blog tour which was fab to be involved somehow.

It was another Dewey’s this month and it didn’t go great because I got stuck reading a book and went into slump mode. But hey ho, they can’t always be amazing!

I got to meet Garth Nix this month and got ALL of my books signed, yeah all 5 of them. I got a few dirty looks for taking so long but oh well, I got SIGNED COPIES, Muhuhahaha!

Singer, Pete Burns passed away this month and it seemed at this point like we couldn’t possibly lose anymore celebrities.


Striking cover and story!

Favourite Posts:

Booket List

Confessions of a Bookaholic

The Book Club pick: No Virgin – Anne Cassidy

I hosted my first giveaway this month and was super proud that it was a success! I’ve done plenty more since then and will continue in the future because it gives me the warm fuzzies to be kind like that!

I also attempted NaNoWriMo this month although I didn’t do well, I was still happy that I actually wrote anything because I have definitely neglected my writing as of late.

My cousin George turned 8 this month and so celebrated with a meal which was lovely to see family that I hadnt seen for so long. I love having a catch up with my cousins every so often.


Getting into the festive spirit with candy cane stripes!

Favourite Posts: ALL OF MY BLOGMAS POSTS!

The Book Club pick: Christmas at Lilac Cottage – Holly Martin

As I’m sure you know if you follow my blog, I have attempted Blogmas yet again this year and WOW. I love it because it keeps me motivated and makes me fall back in love with blogging. It takes the tedious task of blog posts and makes me realise why I loved it so much in the first place. I did however, miss one day and all will be explained why in the next paragraph…

This month, I also got…

ENGAGED!!!

My boyfriend, now Fiancé, proposed to me on the 23rd December and I said YES!

It’s safe to say, I had a wonderful Christmas surrounded by all of the amazing people that I love. I hope that anyone reading this post also had a fantastic and very Merry Christmas too.

The list is endless of celebrities we lost this month. It’s actually unbelievable but I’m writing them here to remember what talent they brought to our World. On the 6th of December, Peter Vaughan, who played Master Aemon in Game of Thrones,  passed away. Liz Smith who played Nanna in The Royle Family passed away on Christmas Eve with pop legend George Michael the next day on Christmas Day itself. Author of Watership Down, Richard Adams, passed away on the 27th, as did Carrie Fisher, who played the famous Princess Leia in Star Wars. Believe it or not, Carrie Fisher’s mother, Debbie Reynolds passed away this morning too.

I just want to say to everyone who has lost someone special this year, famous or not, remember…

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.

I hope you all had an amazing year and I wish every single one of you a happy and healthy 2017! Good lord, where did that year go?! See you all next year!

 


Agony Aunt Mel

5 thoughts on “Let’s look at 2016…

Leave a Reply

