Blogmas · book blogger · Review time

REVIEW TIME: Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin

merry-1

Review Time (21).jpg

Release Date: 2oth October 2016
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Goodreads
The Book Depository

Snow is falling on the charming seaside town of White Cliff bay, where Christmas is magical and love is in the air . . .

Penny Meadows loves her cosy cottage with its stunning views over the town of White Cliff Bay and her job as an ice-carver, creating breathtaking sculptures. Yet her personal life seems frozen.

When Henry and daughter Daisy arrive at the cottage to rent the annex, Penny is determined to make them feel welcome. But while Daisy is friendly, Henry seems guarded.

As Penny gets to know Henry, she realises there is more to him than meets the eye. And the connection between them is too strong to ignore . . .

While the preparations for the ice sculpting competition and Christmas Eve ball are in full swing, will Penny be able to melt the ice and allow love into her heart? And will this finally be the perfect Christmas she’s been dreaming of?


REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

Overall Feelings

 Let’s start with the scenery in this book. It is effing beautiful and there were times were I thought Oh My God, I want to live here! I’m not sure where this book is set but the quaint little village/town seemed very similar to areas in the UK that I have visited. I loved the details of the ‘house on the hill’ and how everyone knows everyone there. It seemed homely even if it was an extremely bitchy environment for Penny.

Talking of Penny, I liked her but at the same time I got really annoyed at certain aspects of her personality. Like she was quite cringey and acted like a little girl in that first chapter. I did grow to like her, but my favourite character had to be Daisy. She seemed the most realistic character and had the perfect reactions to anything that come her way. I feel like Penny became a fab maternal figure to her as well. (OH I FORGOT TO MENTION THAT PENNY’S REAL NAME IS TUPPENCE, WTF?!) As for Henry, he was an are at times and really knew he was the bees knees. Like seriously put your ego away dude. Again I grew to like him though even if at times the felt like cringing.

This brings me to the *whispers* sex scenes. They were cute, hot but extremely cringey! Like at points I was actually trying to cover my eyes and read at the same time. My boyfriend asked me at one point what I was doing and I was like it’s too cringey to read, but I still want to finish the book!

It was an addictive read once I actually got into it but I have to admit some of the conversations are clunky. By clunky I mean they’re written like a letter format, where one person does a monologue and then the other replies with their own. Conversation has stop and starts and is quick. We don’t listen long enough to let people have monologues so I felt like they were awkward at times.

Overall though, even with the flaws in this book, I really effing enjoyed it! It was a nice light, cringey break from anything too serious!


RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

 

Agony Aunt Mel

2 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin

Leave a Reply

