Blogmas · book blogger · Review time

REVIEW TIME: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

merry-1

review-time

Release Date: 5th January 2012
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Goodreads
The Book Depository

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on Goodreads:

mby rev.png

Overall Feelings

So, my Goodreads review basically says it all here! I watched the film first and kinda ruined the read for myself. I knew what was gonna happen so I was just waiting and waiting for it to happen! That would be a negative of this book too, it doesn’t need to be that long.

Louisa is a charming, chatty and friendly person who has just been let go from her job at a cafe. She is desperately seeking work and finds some in a different area altogether, care work. In my eyes, Louisa is the perfect person to be a carer as she is bright, bubbly and makes a pretty good cuppa according to herself!

As for Will, well he’s a bit of an arse. To be fair to him he is Quadriplegic, meaning all four limbs are paralysed and his torso too. I found him to be witty, sarcastic and matter of fact. I enjoyed reading about him but still felt like the ending was the wrong call for things 😦

However, the book was enjoyable and the writing was good. I’ve come to the conclusion that adult fiction isn’t for me and I prefer to stick to the YA genre. After reading this book I was excited to move onto the next book, After You.

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

Agony Aunt Mel

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s