book blogger · Review · Review time

REVIEW TIME: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling et al

review-time-13
Release Date: 31st July 2016
Publisher: Little Brown Books
Goodreads
The Book Depository
 Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-10-25 at 11.32.09.png

Overall Feelings

It was so nice to be back in the World of Harry Potter and I can’t believe how excited I was for this release. Hats off to Amazon for their unbelievably fast delivery service (That wasn’t sponsored by the way, I WISH!).

I was worried to read this book just in case it ruined Harry Potter for me. That happens too often with series’ when they try to prolong them or basically become money makers. However, I was pleasantly surprised and now I have a problem…I really wanna see the show!

The whole wizarding World hasn’t changed and been morphed into something different. It is the same magical place that I remember from reading Harry Potter, with the same characters.

Here is one little bug bear that I have though…our main characters have changed! Although I know that they’ve grown up and will automatically change because of adulthood and after the Battle of Hogwarts, I still felt a little annoyed. For example, what is Ron even for here? He’s always been funny but he’s just kind of in this book because he has to be with a few totally unfunny lines! Harry is also slightly annoying but I can let him off because let’s face it, there is a lot of trauma involved.

Anyway, negatives over because I love our favourite character’s offsprings. Scorpius Malfoy has to be my favourite. He is hilarious and clever and wimpy and just AWWW! He’s a geek who deep down really wants to have friends and be popular but unfortunately because of his unknown background and rumours, people don’t like him. POOR SCORPIUS! I love him, I was defending him the whole way through this book.

Now for Albus, I felt like he was incredibly mopey (i’m gonna add that word to the dictionary) which is understandable but at the same time, please don’t overdo it. I definitely struggled to connect to Albus but by the end, I felt that bond and connection to both main characters (Albus and Scorpius).

Overall, this book wasn’t perfect because let’s face it nothing and no one is perfect, but I still felt that Harry Potter hype and connection and it was a dream to be back in the wizarding World! I wish my owl would come with my Hogwarts letter already, like it’s a good few years late but I’ll forgive it…

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

Agony Aunt Mel

One thought on “REVIEW TIME: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling et al

Leave a Reply

