book blogger

REVIEW TIME: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling

review-time-12
Release Date: 30th June 1997
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Goodreads
The Book Depository
 Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by an owl, taken to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play Quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason … HARRY POTTER IS A WIZARD!

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

screen-shot-2016-10-25-at-11-27-25

Overall Feelings

I just don’t even know where to begin with my review of this legendary book. Re-reading the Philosopher’s Stone brought back amazing memories of that magic first time reading. I found the beloved characters hadn’t changed and the story was still exciting to me now as an adult. This series is definitely one that I will read to my children in the future and try to encourage others to do the same.

There are too many people who have watched the films but not ventured into reading the books which is great but at the same time it saddens me. Although the films stay pretty much true to the books, there are small details missing and I think film watchers would benefit from reading these magical books.

Hats off to J.K Rowling for turning on the light in the darkest of times (see what I did there?!). She worked against the odds to create an amazing and promising series and bring that magic into children’s lives today.

If you haven’t ever read the Harry Potter series, I highly encourage you to do so, even if you have seen the films. READ!

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

Agony Aunt Mel

One thought on “REVIEW TIME: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling

Leave a Reply

