book blogger

TUESDAY TALKS: Favourite books to read for Halloween

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.
And this week’s topic is:

Favourite books to read for Halloween

So there are just a few books that I’d like to read coming up to Halloween. I really don’t like being scared, not that anyone does, but I hate watching scary films or reading scary books so these choices aren’t extremely scary. I don’t read majorly scary things so these are more unsettling and creepy than anything. So without further ado, here are my choices:

ReadORama Wrap-up!Say Her Name – Juno Dawson

This book is based on the Bloody Mary tale of ‘say her name 3 times and she’ll appear’. I HAVE NEVER AND WILL NEVER DO THIS BECAUSE THIS BOOK IS SERIOUSLY EFFED UP. I read it before sleeping and then cursed myself for the few hours of sleep I got. The last half of this book just seriously messes with your head and as I was reading it was like watching a horror film! They could so make it into one!

ReadORama Wrap-up!The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge

Okay so this isn’t really scary but it is dark and gothic. I want the new illustrated version so bad because it looks SHA-MAZING. I was more creeped out by the actual lie tree than anything else and it’s creepy fruit!

ReadORama Wrap-up! House Trap – Mike Mauthor
This is a creepy worst nightmare kind of book. It’s basically a hunt inside a house where the intruders are locked inside with you. I won’t go on because it is sinister and gory and creepy AF.
ReadORama Wrap-up! Black Cairn Point – Claire McFall

My favourite out of this list has to be Black Cairn Point because in just 258 pages, Claire McFall manages to make you question every shadow you ever saw and doubt yourself with those last few pages. The struggle is real. Read this book if you haven’t because it is some seriously messed up stuff and believe me you will never go camping AGAIN.

What spooktastic books do you like?

Agony Aunt Mel

One thought on “TUESDAY TALKS: Favourite books to read for Halloween

Leave a Reply

