book blogger · Review time

YA SHOT REVIEW: Heart Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne

ya-shot-banner2DUN DUN DUNNN! Another YA Shot review and today it is for this beauty…

13145654

Release Date: 10th May 2012
Publisher: Headline
Goodreads
The Book Depository
They say I’m evil. The police. The newspapers. The girls from school who shake their heads on the six o’clock news and say they always knew there was something not quite right about me. And everyone believes it. Including you. But you don’t know. You don’t know who I used to be.

Who I could have been.

Awaiting trial at Archway Young Offenders Institution, Emily Koll is going to tell her side of the story for the first time.

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 17.14.32.png

Overall Feelings

First things first, the way this is written is THE BEST! I love how it’s a notebook found in a young offender’s institution as it adds to the total mystery of the plot. Also, it’s written so personally and makes you feel as though Emily is writing to YOU and not in a notebook.

Emily Koll is seen as evil, the media all think so but they don’t know the whole story. I love how Emily comes across as fierce and with an attitude. She has major issues in her life and obviously those issues led to her being in a young offenders institute. I won’t reveal why because that would be a totally cruel spoiler but you will really get to know Emily in a protective way. Although Emily is a great character she has a disguise called Rose Glass who is your typical teenage rebel, red dyed hair, drinks, smokes etc. This sounds more complicated than it actually is…

I LOVE unreliable narrators because it’s a thrill to read from a perspective that you can’t trust, it makes you feel on edge like are they lying or not? Should I believe her? What is happening?!

I don’t really want to talk about other characters in case I spoil everyone so let’s just move on and say that I would definitely recommend this book. It’s interesting, intriguing and will leave you thinking. Even as I write this review, i’m still trying to wrap my head around what happened and did I miss anything whilst reading.

Truly good writing and I will pick up more from Tanya Byrne in the future!

 

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

Agony Aunt Mel

3 thoughts on “YA SHOT REVIEW: Heart Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne

Leave a Reply

