book blogger

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

Top 5 Wednesday is set up by the lovely Lainey at GingerReadsLainey if you want to pop over and have a look at her channel. This meme is being looked after by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes. Let’s have a look at the topic for today!

Gateway books to your favourite genre

My favourite genre is Young Adult but there are also sub-genres like paranormal, contemporary, fantasy etc. Here are a few books that led me to YA as my favourite genre.

5) Night World series by L.J Smith

This is a paranormal series that I fell in love with and recommended to everyone I possibly could at the time. It opened the gateway into teenage characters for me.

4) The Vampire Diaries series by L.J Smith

I’m not sure if this is classed as YA or not but the majority of the characters are teenagers or hundreds of years old vampires who look like teenagers. I was obsessed with this series and heartbroken by the changes the TV show made!
 7735333

3) Matched by Ally Condie

I should be quite embarrassed by this one since a lot of people don’t like this book but i’m not! It was a good piece of YA even though it is very cliched and has a recycled plot BUT I enjoyed it and it opened me up to YA without vampires/paranormal entities!
 11870085.jpg

2) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This book is highly raved about in the bookish community and although this isn’t a book that was a gateway to me into YA, it could be for many others. I would recommend this YA Contemporary to anyone who wants a taste of how amazing but utterly cruel YA can be.

 16143347

1) We Were Liars by E.Lockhart

This is a definite opinion-divider where some people LOVED it and others HATED it…a bit like marmite. I personally loved this book and the major shock ending so I would recommend it as a book that grips you and pulls you into the amazingness of YA.

What about you?

Find all of my previous Top 5 Wednesday posts here.

Look out for next weeks at The Book Moo!

Agony Aunt Mel

2 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

Leave a Reply

