book blogger

Refreshing Recs!

Today I thought i’d bring you something a little bit different and out of the norm. I had a few people asking me for obscure recommendations and so I thought EUREKA! I’mma do a blog post with some refreshing, lesser known books for y’all. If you want to know more about any of these books, click on the title and it will take you to my review where there is more info, including synopsis’. Let me know in the comments or on Twitter if you gave any of my recommendations a go!

refreshingrecs

Say Her Name – Juno Dawson

You have probably heard of Juno Dawson (formerly James) by now as she is becoming rather big on the YA scene, and for good reason! I absolutely HATE anything horror related or even remotely scary but this was truly amayyyy.

One word of advice though…don’t read it before you go to sleep.

Lies Like Love – Louisa Reid

I will forever love Louisa Reid’s books because she grips you and doesn’t let go. When you get to the end of this book you will be horrified, stunned and want more of her writing.

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

This is probably more well-known than the others but I had to mention it because I feel like most people wouldn’t pick it up because it’s classed more as children’s than YA. Please pick it up because it is truly beautiful and really insightful into grief, loss and acceptance.

Birdy – Jess Vallance

I loved this read and again you may have heard of Jess Vallance as she has a new book out called The Yellow Room. This is a contemporary YA and is in a school setting and I can’t say much and ruin it but the end will mess with your head. Alls I’m gonna say is I was OBSESSED with it *wink wink*

Black Cairn Point – Claire McFall

Another one to mess with your mind, literally the last 5 or so pages will have you second guessing yourself and wondering how messed up Claire McFall is! I highly recommend this as a halloween read so get it in time for the 31st of October…QUICK!

Paperweight – Meg Haston

This is what some people might call an ‘issue’ book but please don’t be put off. It is a short book surrounding eating disorders and it really resonated with me. I found it addictive, heartbreaking and intense.

Nothing Tastes As Good – Claire Hennessy

This is another book involving characters with eating disorders. I love the writing style and the perspective as it is written from a dead girl’s POV. This was our Book Club pick for August and is a definitely a controversial one!

The Color of Our Sky – Amita Trasi

I received this book from Netgalley and didn’t really know if I was going to like it but believe me I DID! It was insightful and upsetting and so good. It is definitely under rated so i’d recommend this if you’re looking for something diverse, cry-worthy and enlightening.

Heap House – Edward Carey

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while then you may have realised how obsessed I am with this book/series. Although it is classed as children’s it is rather dark and reminds me of A Series of Unfortunate Events in that way. It’s unusual and strange but that is what makes it so wonderful.

A Boy Made of Blocks – Keith Stuart

I recently received this book to review and I am so happy that I did. It is interesting, informative and beautiful. It revolves around a little boy with autism and his dad trying to understand him and how he sees the World. I loved how the emotions are true to real life, the frustration and the happiness. It is so heartfelt and I highly recommend it.

They were my refreshing recs! I hope you enjoyed this post, if so give it a likey below. Like I said at the beginning, if you pick up any of these books, let me know what you thought about them below or on Twitter. I’d be happy to hear about any of your refreshing recs too! 

Agony Aunt Mel

One thought on “Refreshing Recs!

Leave a Reply

