book blogger

TUESDAY TALKS: Have you ever read and enjoyed a book out of your normal genre?

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

Have you ever read and enjoyed a book out of your normal genre?

YES! I think almost everyone has dipped into other genres and found at least one book they enjoyed. A genre that is totally out of my norm is non-fiction because I like to have fun whilst reading and most non-fictions are BORING! However, I did really enjoy Mind Your Head by Juno Dawson and Dr Olivia Hewitt. It makes non-fiction okay and actually quite funny. The same goes for Being A Girl by Hayley Long, it’s not boring and a drag. It’s funny, informative and puts a light-hearted tint on the topics involved.
Another genre I don’t normally go near is sci-fi, however These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner really changed that for me! It wasn’t your everyday geeky sci-fi that i’d read and feel totally alienated by *excuse the pun*. It was still YA, my fave genre mixed in with the stars and spaceships and relationships! This led me to The 5th Wave series which ultimately I enjoyed because it wasn’t unrealistic sci-fi like the green aliens have landed.
Overall, it is really great to broaden your horizons and try new genres because you never know what you’ll like unless you give it a go.

What about you?
Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to check out my latest posts!

Agony Aunt Mel

Leave a Reply

