Uncategorized

REVIEW TIME: How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

Review Time (4)

Release Date: 1st February 2016
Publisher: Usborne
Goodreads
Amazon

 Amber, Evie and Lottie: three girls facing down tough issues with the combined powers of friendship, feminism and cheesy snacks. Both hilarious and heart-rending, this is Amber’s story of how painful – and exhilarating – love can be, following on from Evie’s story in Am I Normal Yet?

All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that.

And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 17.46.41.png

Overall Feelings

I was excited to read this book straight after finishing the first in the Normal series, Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne. I was a little apprehensive before reading it because I wasn’t keen on Amber, one of the three main characters. I found her to be quite stubborn, harsh and sometimes really childish. So I definitely thought this wasn’t going to be as good as the first book.

However, I was pleasantly surprised! I really took to Amber because we found out more about why she behaves the way she does and how much she’s been shit on by her parents. She definitely grows as a character and we see a more affectionate side to her during the book. I think I had problems with Amber because she reflects what I can be like sometimes!

The writing of this book is so realistic and down to Earth, Holly Bourne is a master of what females think on a daily basis. Like I read most of the spinster club parts like YES! TRUE! AMEN! If you haven’t read this series and are unsure what the spinster club is, it’s basically a feminist group formed by the three main characters of these books who have turned the word spinster around. Not to sound too much like a GCSE Media Studies paper here but, the word Spinster has negative connotations of an older woman who never married. So Amber, Evie and Lottie make it their mission to turn spinster into a positive, like ‘bachelor’ for men.

I feel so empowered and educated when I read more about the spinster club and there is no jargon that you can’t understand. It’s all in terms that you understand and totally relate to. Honestly, I was so proud to be a feminist after reading this book. It ignited what I felt deep down and really struck a chord with me.

The setting is lovely in a rural American camp so it’s got a cute forest and campfire, so romantic…hint HINT!

I cannot recommend Holly Bourne’s writing enough and this series is just AMAYYYY! DROP EVERYTHING AND READ IT NOW!

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

6 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

