Uncategorized

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Favorite First Sentences

Top 5 Wednesday is set up by the lovely Lainey at GingerReadsLainey if you want to pop over and have a look at her channel. This meme is being looked after by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes. Let’s have a look at the topic for today!

Favourite First Sentences

5) The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
 It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.

4) This Savage Song by V.E Schwab

 The night Kate Harker decided to burn down the school chapel, she wasn’t angry or drunk.

3) Black Heart Blue by Louisa Reid

 They tried to make me go to my sister’s funeral today.

2) The Color Purple by Alice Walker

 You better not tell nobody but God. It’d kill your mammy.

 

1) Lies Like Love by Louisa Reid

 I died three times before I was five years old.

What about you?

WOO! That was this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, stay tuned for next weeks!

3 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Favorite First Sentences

  1. These two sent a chill down my spine:
    ” They tried to make me go to my sister’s funeral today”
    ” I died three times before I was five years old.”
    How do you even remember these? Maybe because of how impactful they were!!!!
    I hope to read Savage Song soon and that sentence sure gripped me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

