Uncategorized

TUESDAY TALKS: What Taboo subjects do you like to read about?

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

What taboo subjects do you like to read about?

I found this topic a bit tricky to think of what’s classed as ‘taboo’ and there are loads of subjects that I wish weren’t taboo, so prepare for a rant people.

A big taboo subject that I weirdly like to read about is War/Nazi Germany. I sound sick saying that but I just LOVED The Book Thief and was seriously into History at school so it grips me. The terrible things these people went through! I have a book on my shelf called Born Survivors about three pregnant jewish women and really want to get round to it soon, let me know if you’ve read it…anyone?

So that may be sick but i’m gonna get a little bit awkward now. A taboo subject that is never written about is periods. It is incredibly silly that 49.6% of the World is made up of women and yet it is seen as taboo to talk about menstruation. Seriously patriarchy, EFF YOU! To illustrate my point…

Katniss has been hiding in the tree away from the careers and Peeta all night long. She awakens to the sound of the drum signalling another death within the arena. As Katniss removes the rope holding her to the tree’s branch, she notices blood on the groin of her pants. ‘OH SHIT’ she thought, what a great place to feel bloated, bleed for a few days and seriously crave chocolate.

CAN YOU IMAGINE READING THIS TYPE OF THING IN ANY BOOK?! Why is it such a taboo to talk about something this natural?! The only books I can think of that defy this taboo are the Normal series by Holly Bourne. Check them out! I think Holly would be proud of this post defying the patriarchy 🙂

What about you?
Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to check out my latest posts!

2 thoughts on “TUESDAY TALKS: What Taboo subjects do you like to read about?

    1. I am so glad someone else gets this! Like why shouldn’t they be included in books? It’s a monthly occurrence and most books span a year or atleast a few months! It sounds horrible to want to read about them but it’s not that, it’s just wanting that acknowledgement that it’s fine to talk about them. There shouldn’t be a taboo on them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

