Uncategorized

REVIEW TIME: Black Heart Blue by Louisa Reid

Review Time (6)

Release Date: 10th May 2012
Publisher: Penguin
Goodreads
Amazon

‘They tried to make me go to my sister’s funeral today. In the end I had to give in … I’d been walking in her shadow for sixteen years and I liked its cool darkness. It was a good place to hide.’

Rebecca’s twin sister Hephzibah was beautiful and daring. She was the one who always wanted more. The one who wouldn’t listen. Now she’s gone, Rebecca is alone.

While there were two of them, they stayed silent about their home life. But Rebecca, who knows the truth about how her twin died, suddenly finds herself keeping too many secrets. Hephzibah dreamt of escape, but failed. Could Rebecca be the one to find freedom?

Original and unforgettable, Black Heart Blue is not just Rebecca and Hephzibah’s story. It’s a story about all of us: a story about the lies we want to believe, the truth we sometimes can’t, and having the courage to discover the difference.

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 17.16.54.png

Overall Feelings

This is sick and twisted and I LOVED IT! I will come across as a really evil person for liking this book but it’s unbelievable. After reviewing Louisa’s second book, Lies Like Love, she so very kindly sent me Black Heart Blue as a thank you. I am so glad she did!

Throughout reading this, my skin tingled and screamed and my heart twisted and catapulted around my chest. I seriously thought I couldn’t be hurt anymore, and it sickened me to think that this isn’t just fiction. Black Heart Blue is a fictional story BUT this vile kind of thing happens in our World today. YUCK. It was incredibly difficult to read and at times I had to put it down and take a break from it. However, it is so heart wrenching that you can’t help but pick it up again.

The ending is also logical and not unrealistic. All the way through I was urging Rebecca to find someone to tell, to confess all. I understand that in the situation you would be terrified but there are things in place to protect you so I was like REBECCA PLEASE TELL A TEACHER?! A LIBRARIAN?! A NEIGHBOUR?!

I want this book to be out there and hyped about to inspire others to come forward and inform people to be aware that not all that glitters is gold. Be ready for one hell of an emotional journey and get the tissues ready. I would highly recommend this book!

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

3 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Black Heart Blue by Louisa Reid

Leave a Reply

