Uncategorized

TUESDAY TALKS: What are some things you do not like about YA or Adult books?

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

What are some things you don’t like about YA/Adult books?

I mainly have a problem with tropes and predictability. So let me start with tropes…

‘Strong’ female character is in danger with the government/person in power/someone or other and they want her dead. In this dystopian World, there is a boy who our female character falls for within the first 5 minutes of meeting him. Enter the sentences ‘Our eyes locked from across the room.’ ‘My spine tingled with heat that rose to my cheeks.’ ‘I wanted to touch him, no needed to touch him.’ Like seriously girl, i’ve read this before. Anyway, after they meet they INSEPERABLE and she cannot live without him. They defeat the government/person in power/someone or other and live happily ever after together, marry and pop out a few kids. Boom.

Okay, this story sounds good minus the sexism involved BUT it’s been done. Numerous times. Twilight, Fallen, The Hunger Games, Divergent. Not to say I don’t like these incredibly popular books, but i’m getting fed up of a carbon-copied plot.

Now for predictability, I love that majorly shocking I-did-not-see-that-coming ending that leaves you reeling. It makes you feel like reading the book and investing time into it was totally worth it. I absolutely HATE it when halfway through a book you’re like Colonel Mustard did it in the kitchen with the pipe and then BOOM! Colonel Mustard turns up and you’re all like ‘I told you so’ feeling all smug like sheldon.

giphy (51).gif

It’s a great feeling but then you’re like, I could have stopped reading halfway because I KNEW IT! It’s so unsatisfying that the book has been so predictable. I want books that really get my mind working and then rip my heart out at the end or send me into meltdown. That might sound sick and twisted but those are the books that are THE best.

What about you?
Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to check out my latest posts!

Leave a Reply

