Uncategorized

REVIEW TIME: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Brownies (4)

Release Date: 25th of February, 2016
Publisher: Macmillan
Goodreads
Amazon

I was brave

She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

 

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 20.27.43.png

Overall Feelings

This book doesn’t rely on male characters so I feel really empowered that our three main characters aren’t always talking about boys. It definitely passes the Bechdel test which just makes it 10 times better! I feel like this is normal teenage life and is a really good representation of how things are for some people.

Although I haven’t experienced some of the things that happen in this book, I feel like if I was going through them then this is how I would feel or react. Although I do get majorly peed off with how Suzanne doesn’t make a deal out of a BIG problem.

I like the main character Caddy but she annoyed me in parts with how she was with Suzanne. She kissed her arse so much and I was like c’mon Caddy grow a backbone will you! This made me think that Suzanne was a bit power hungry for someone to be a lackey to her. It reminded me of how I used to be with a friend of mine so it annoyed me a little.

With that said about Suzanne’s character, I still loved her in a sick kind of way. She was fiery and hot and cold with her personality. She’s a very unique character who takes no shit but hands a hell of a lot of it out to other people! She is a rebel without a cause who didn’t stick to the rules.

Rosie was a character I loved because she didn’t take any crap and was straight to the point. She told everyone straight what she thought without being bothered.

I haven’t written much about the plot in this review because I don’t want to be spoiler-ish but at the end you’re jaw will drop and you’ll be seriously pooing yourself at a certain scene!

A really good story and addictive read, I would definitely recommend to fans of YA and Contemporary reads.

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

One thought on “REVIEW TIME: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Leave a Reply

