Uncategorized

REVIEW TIME: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

58b7b-thebookclubBrownies (5)

This is The Book Club’s pick of the month for July so be sure to check out the rest of the girl’s reviews right here. Leave a comment telling me what you thought of Am I Normal Yet?

DON’T MISS THE BOOK CLUB’S CHAT ON TWITTER USING #BCChat on the 30th July, 2016 at 18:00 BST.

   Release Date: 1st of August, 2015            Publisher: Usborne

             Goodreads         Amazon

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 21.32.51

Overall Feelings

Okay so can we talk about the genius that is Holly Bourne?! She has this way of writing that is so laid back and down to earth that it grabs you because of how normal regular average it is. I don’t want to use the word normal because no one is normal, we all have our own traits that are classed as weird and wonderful so normal is like irrelevant. I LOVE the way Holly writes and her characters reflect everyday teenagers.

First up is the main character Evie. Evie suffers from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and feels like she can never be ‘normal’ because ‘normal’ girls her age have boyfriends and go to parties and lose their virginity. So, my opinion of Evie is how EVERY teenage girl feels about others. We constantly compare ourselves to one another and if we feel like dressing up and looking good it has to be for a ‘man’. Yuk, patriarchy.

giphy (46)

Okay, rant over and back to talking about the book. This book will seriously open your eyes to the World of feminism and you will want to set us your own Spinster Club, I promise. Also, the feminism isn’t in your face and all raving and screaming. It’s put across in a conversation between the girls so that it’s down to earth and understandable. It opened my eyes and made me even more of a feminist. Seriously, GIRLS RULE!

I’m sure that last paragraph started with rant over…honestly it’s over now…maybe. We have Evie’s 2 besties, Lottie and Amber who know nothing of Evie’s illness throughout the book unfortunately, but are totally supportive of each other. The three girls are like the real life Power Puff Girls, best friends who are so close and just reading about them makes me feel like part of something so cool!

giphy (47).gif

I really want you all to read this AMAZING book, yes I used caps lock it’s that good! I was seriously attached to this book and the only reason I didn’t finish it within a day was because I had to go to work…and it even made me late then!

READ IT AS FAST AS YOU CAN AND THEN THE SEQUEL HOW HARD CAN LOVE BE?

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:

8 thoughts on “REVIEW TIME: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

