blogger · Books · Favourite quotes · harper lee · Malorie Blackman · Marissa Meyer · Melinda Salisbury · quotes · Reading · The Lunar Chronicles · Tuesday Talks · W.B Yeats

TUESDAY TALKS: Favourite quotes from books

This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.


And this week’s topic is:

Favourite quotes from books

This is a really tricky one of the top of my head because I don’t keep a note of favourite quotes anywhere, maybe I should make a journal of them. I relied mostly on Goodreads quotes for this post but I chose the books very carefully and found my favourites so here we go.

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”
His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic opetation?”
“No, the sex change.”
The doctor’s smile faltered.
“I’m joking.” 

I love this conversation between Cinder and Dr Erland in The Lunar Chronicles because it made me sit there giggling! The sarcasm from Cinder is so close to my personality it’s unbelievable! More Lunar Chronicles hilarity below:

“Cinder,” Iko said after a few silent minutes of explorations. “I’m enormous.” 

“What? What did I say?”
” ‘Is that all hair?’ “
“Did you see it? It was like a cross between a magpie nest and ball of yarn after it’s been mauled by a cheetah.”

“Wolf, are you asking me to be … your alpha female?” 

“A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.” Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.” 

“They’re the first crew I’ve ever had and most of them even call me Captain. I’m going to miss them.”  

Okay now for the serious ones and a cheat. My cheat is because the first quote is my absolute favourite ever but it isn’t from a book, it’s from a poem instead…but hey ho! I hope you enjoy my favourite quotes!

“Tread softly for you tread on my dreams” – W.B Yeats

“I hadn’t fully realized just how powerful words could be before this. Whoever came up with the saying ‘sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me’ was talking out of his or her armpit.” – Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman 

“Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee 

“A person can say a lot without speaking.”  – The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury 

“Why would anyone get drunk? Why does anyone need anything like that to escape the world, when the world is its own antidote?”“Failure is never getting hurt. Because that means you’ve not done anything you cared about.” – How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne


What are your favourite quotes?

That’s it for this week’s Tuesday Talks!

Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to receive my latest posts!
Leave a Reply

