Am I Normal Yet · Books · Dark Places · Gillian Flynn · Gone Girl · Mara Dyer · Mental health awareness · MHAReadathon · Michelle Hodkin · Reading · Sharp Objects

Mental Health Awareness Readathon TBR!

Since May is Mental Health Awareness month, there is a readathon to go with it, YAY! So to find out more you can visit the readathon’s twitter @MHAReadathon and check out the hashtag too #MHAReadathon

WOO! My TBR is two days late but let’s not focus on that eh?
I’m starting with Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne which focuses on a teenage girl and what exactly is ‘normal’. I love this concept because i’m identified as weird so normal isn’t really me, whatever normal is. I find that the word normal is used so often in conversations and it’s like NO! Why am I using the word normal? STOP! Everyone’s normal is different so we can’t say well this is what normal looks like.

When i’ve finished that, i’m moving on and giving myself the option of three different books. These three books are all by Gillian Flynn so we have Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Dark Places.

I have wanted to read Gone Girl for so long because I made a boo boo and watched the film first! The film made me want to read the book though because, let’s face it, the book is always better. I’ve done a bit of research about this book and have found that the main character suffers from a personality disorder of some sort. Which one though is up for debate so i’m gonna leave it at that and check it out!

I have already started reading Sharp Objects before but gave up after the first few pages. I think this was partly to do with it being a library book so I felt like it needed to be back and I couldn’t be bothered to take it out again. Fingers crossed that the second time round i’ll be gripped! This book focuses on self-harm which can be linked to mental health conditions such as depression.

Finally, i’ve chosen Dark Places and I don’t know much about this one to be totally honest. I’ve researched the mental health aspect of this book and discovered that there is depression and PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) involved.

Finally, if I manage to read Am I Normal Yet? and a Gillian Flynn novel, then i’ll move onto the Mara Dyer series which tackles PTSD again. A lot of people have said this is a true representation of this mental illness and isn’t fantasised like in films or other books.

So, that’s what i’m reading for the Mental Health Awareness Readathon so let me know if you’re participating and what you’re reading! Wish me luck and you can find my updates on twitter right here @TheBookMoo
Leave a Reply

