Amita Trasi · book blogger · Books · BookTube · Crush · Eve Ainsworth · Gayle Forman · Hard reads · I was here · Lies Like Love · Louisa Reid · Meg Haston · Paperweight · T5W · The Color of our sky · Top 5 Wednesday

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Books with hard topics!

Let’s have a look at the topic for Top 5 Wednesday today!






Books with hard topics


If you click the title of the book it will take you to my review of that book. Some reviews are Youtube reviews, whilst others are written reviews.


5) I Was Here – Gayle Forman

This book explores suicide and assisted suicide. I found it pretty hard to read this book as it cuts deep into a friendship and the main character, Cody, realises she didn’t know her best friend as well as she thought. Cody explores the internet and finds some harrowing websites that apparently do exist and can be quite disgusting in my opinion. I think that link to reality really made this a hard book to read for me.

4) Paperweight – Meg Haston

As i’m writing this, I haven’t finished Paperweight yet but I can tell you that this book is seriously hard to read. It’s addictive but seriously hard to read at points as it is about eating disorders. I had to put it down for like 10 minutes on numerous occasions. It’s like a fine line between wanting to read it and find out what happens, but at the same time, not being strong enough to carry on reading it. The description and overall content is enough to make you cry. Honestly, a gripping but hard topic to read about.

3) Lies Like Love – Louisa Reid

This book is SO under-hyped it’s unbelievable. Seriously, every single one of you needs to read it. It’s a very hard topic that will probably drive you to drink but it’s such a good book, you feel helpless and at the same time, you feel strong for the main character, Audrey. Click on the book’s name to check out my review to get a better picture about the book.
Plus, my mum loved this book too. Read it and then pass it onto your mum, we could start a trend!

4) Crush – Eve Ainsworth
I really enjoyed this short read, the topic is about controlling and toxic relationships. I was reading it and thinking if my boyfriend ever did some of this stuff to me, no matter how much I love him, I would WHOOP HIS ASS! I couldn’t believe that this is a reality for some people and it was hard to read even more so because it’s written from both perspectives. It is honestly worth reading just for an insight into how these relationships start and how to avoid them

This book is unbelievable. It ventures into a World that I never knew about and i’m pretty sure 99% of you have probably never either. I think it’s so striking because it’s real, which makes it 10x harder to read. I’m so glad I pushed myself through the hard parts because the ending is just perfect. You will love these characters like they’re your own flesh and blood, you’ll feel like one of their sisters! Please, read it, for the young women that go through this. They need to be heard and we need to support them!

You can check out all of my previous Top 5 Wednesday’s here.

WOO! That was this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, stay tuned for next week’s!

Leave a Reply

