Blogging · Blogmas · Books · Cinder · Cress · Marissa Meyer · Scarlet · The Book Moo · The Lunar Chronicles · Winter

REVIEW TIME: Winter by Marissa Meyer

*Check out reviews of the previous books to avoid spoilers!*

Title: Winter


Author: Marissa Meyer


Release Date: 10th November, 2015


Publisher: Puffin

Pages: 824 Pages


Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.
Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

REVIEW TIME

Here was my initial review on goodreads:

Characters:

I don’t know how to talk about all of these characters without rambling but i’ll give it a go!
First off we have Cinder who is by far my favourite female character and not because she is the main one but because she is crafted so well without a missing detail. I can picture like I can a friend, she is so laid back and seriously cool. I just love, love, LOVE her!
As for Emperor Kai, well he is truly a brilliant love interest for Cinder because he is the opposite of her. Where Cinder is very down-to-Earth and has a say it how it is attitude, Kai has the political correctness side, the manners, the ‘correct’ way to do things. This is why they get on so well because they admire one another.
Next is Scarlet, who I didn’t connect with that much in her own book but within Winter I really started to warm to her and view her as a team player. She is dependable and unbelievably loyal and I was surprisingly looking to her to fix things in half of this book!
Her love interest Wolf, has been through the mill. If you aren’t aware of what that saying means, basically it means he’s been through a hell of a lot. As if he doesn’t hate his modifications enough, he goes through so much more trouble in this book. He is loyal, dangerous and overall a big softy at heart. Yet another brilliant and fiery couple.
Cress, Cress, CRESS. I feel like she is the little girl that needs to be looked after. However, she may not be a fighter or confident within herself, but she is a force to be reckoned with. Half of the scheming and plotting wouldn’t have happened in Winter if it wasn’t for Cress. She is highly intelligent and I love her like a little sister.
Thorne, her other half is truly hilarious. There were multiple occasions where I was actually laughing out loud at Thorne’s reactions or even just over-confidence! I think my boyfriend was fed up of me reading excerpts out to him including Thorne’s sarcastic comments. He is without a doubt my favourite male character and I truly SHIP Thorne and Cress as a couple.
Winter is an unusual character who I didn’t really know how to take at first. She is strange to say the least but I believe the sacrifice she makes in this book is truly admirable, a word i’m using way too much in this review. She is comfortable in her own skin and does not use her glamour or gift to manipulate people. I think that she must be a role model to the other citizens on Luna.
Her guard and childhood sweetheart, Jacin, is another unusual enigma that I cannot solve! I had very mixed feelings about him but I can understand his actions under Levana’s reign. I felt like he was self-centered until I realised he lives for Winter, she is EVERYTHING to him. Their relationship is on tenterhooks until Jacin proves himself in this book.
Levana is a piece of work. SERIOUSLY, she has a problem. I would not like to know how twisted Marissa Meyer’s imagination can get when she writes about Queen Levana. She is an amazingly crafted villain that you absolutely LOVE to HATE.
My favourite android ever, Iko, could be an honorary human. She is so sassy and just truly AMAZING. She has a brilliant relationship with Thorne and the banter that they have is hilarious to read and makes you as a reader feel like part of the crew.
Plot:
I find it so hard to write this part of the review because I don’t like to spoil people so go read the first three books and then come back.
Let’s be really awkward and start with the ending of this book. The ending of this book is unbelievable and made me want to hold the book forever and not let go. Alls I can say without ruining it is, its the BEST ENDING EVER!
The description of Luna is detailed but not in a boring, lets-get-to-the-story way, more of a visualising way. I have a clear picture of Luna and the palace in my head and can visualise the different rooms. The same goes for characters, I can really visualise them fully without a problem.
The amount of times I thought this book was nearing the end because of climaxes and cliffhangers was ridiculous! I got to about 500 pages in and thought how can there be this many pages left?! It’s long but I didn’t feel like it was unnecessary. There was no point were I thought why am I reading about this, it isn’t relevant.
EVERYTHING IS RELEVANT. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. READ THE SERIES. THE WRITING. THE CHARACTERS. I EFFING LOVE IT!

Overall feelings:

My overall feelings after reading this book are…
“THIS IS MY FAVOURITE BOOK EVER!”
I have never fallen in love with so many characters in a series. I honestly loved every minute of this series and they are truly a joy to read. I feel really invested in the characters and wanted to help them myself! Definitely a series I’d recommend and I myself would re-read over and over again.

RATING TIME

Moo Rating:
Leave a Reply

