Abbie Rushton · Blogmas · Bookworms Buddy · Edward Carey · Foulsham · Heap House · Hot key books · Lies Like Love · Louisa Reid · Lungdon · Mitch Albom · The Book Moo · TT · Tuesday Talks · under rated · Unspeakable

TUESDAY TALKS: Share some of your unusual or under rated books…

So today i’m bringing you a…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

Share some of your unusual or under-rated books…

So, I generally read like a sheep. Following the crowd and what other people talk about generally decides my TBR. However, I do receive review copies from Hot Key Books which tend to be under-rated and definitely unusual books.
Here’s a few recommendations…

The Iremonger series by Edward Carey

As you can probably already tell from the illustrations on these books, they are unusual. Honestly, I’ve never read such a strange series, however they are truly nail biting and seriously effective with cliffhangers. It’s almost like Edward Carey just decided to stop writing at the end of Heap House and Foulsham. A really addictive series and one I highly recommend.

Lies Live Love – Louisa Reid

This book is never really mentioned in the book community so therefore it is highly under-rated considering how amazing it is! It’s dark but really gripping and everyone will find something they like. The only reason I know the majority of people will like it is because I recommended it to my mum although we have completely different taste in books. We both really loved it and thought it was a 5 star read.

GET ON IT NOW!

Juvie – Steve Watkins

I think the circumstances in which I read this book made it even more exciting! I read the entire book on a 10 hour flight home from Mexico. It was my goal to start and finish the book in those hours since it would be a chunk of time to myself.
Anyway, enough about me, this book reminded me of the Orange is the New Black TV show. It was a long the same lines however it focused on juvenile prison. Honestly it was such an enjoyable read and definitely made me want more and read more about the justice system. Highly under rated so go out there and hype.

Unspeakable – Abbie Rushton

Again, this book is so under-rated it’s unbelievable! Mysterious and unusual, this is most definitely one to read. There’s diversity, a bit of a thriller, mystery and SHOCK!
Also, what is unusual about this book is that our main character does not speak, almost like selective mutism. I found it interesting and really rather beautiful.
Seriously, you will not see this ending coming so go out there and read Abbie Rushton’s debut!

The Five people you meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom

I know Mitch Albom is a rather large author but I haven’t heard ANYONE talk about this book. I fell in love with this book and really wanted it to be what happens when we die. It’s a lovely, unique way to look at the afterlife and needs more recognition! It’s also very unusual as it looks at death like a recollection of life and almost like your life is flashing before your eyes.

I really enjoyed this short read and found it rather heartbreaking. I shed a few tears whilst reading.

That’s it for this week’s Tuesday Talks!

Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to receive my latest posts!
Leave a Reply

