blogger · Book Recommendations · BookTube · Bookworms Buddy · Hype · library · MrsJRodsReads · The Book Moo · TT · Tuesday Talks · YA

TUESDAY TALKS: Does book hype effect your reading?

So today i’m bringing you a…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

Does book hype effect your reading?

Book hype can be a major problem for me. 9 times out of 10 I fall in love with hyped books but that 1 time out 10, it can be ruined. By ruined, I mean that I set my expectations high and think OH MY GOD THIS IS GOING TO BE AMAZING! Then it just isn’t, if that makes sense?

If i’ve got high expectations going into the book and then it’s mediocre then I feel like it’s a good book but not that good. I hate it when this happens because if I would have heard nothing of the book and then read it, i’d probably like it. Sometimes hype just ruins it and your whole experience of the book is different.

On the other hand, sometimes when someone is hyped about a book and you read it and love it too and it turns into a fandom and you absolutely love it and AHHHH! My example of this is The Hunger Games, seriously it is so good and the hype doesn’t ruin it because it is THAT good!

How do you feel about hype?

That’s it for this week’s Tuesday Talks!

Don’t forget to follow me on Bloglovin’ to receive my latest posts!
Leave a Reply

