Alice Walker · Banned books · Blogging · gingerreadslainey · harper lee · Harry Potter · J.K Rowling · John Steinbeck · Of Mice and Men · Roahl Dahl · The Color Purple · To kill a mockingbird · Top 5 Wednesday

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY: Banned books I have read!

Top 5 Wednesday is set up by the lovely Lainey at GingerReadsLainey if you want to pop over and have a look at her channel. Let’s have a look at the topic for today!






Banned books I have read




5) Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

I read this book in secondary school for required reading for our exams. At first I was like oh God seriously, a classic. The title doesn’t really invite you in either so I was dreading this read. However, by the end I loved it. Shocking, gripping and soul-destroying all in one. Violent content, but so what?! People need these kinds of books in order to empathise and understand other human beings. Friendship is a key feature to this book and that is what should be taken into account.


4) The Color Purple by Alice Walker




I really do understand why this book was banned because seriously, I was reading and looking away and crying and squinting through my fingers in some parts and i’m guessing you know which parts I mean. It is highly controversial for the violence and incest involved in it, but at the end of the day, this stuff happened/happens. This book is probably highly accurate to a lot of people’s lives back then and even now!


3) To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee


I read this book earlier this year and absolutely loved it. Again I can see why it was banned, the content is controversial but so what? That’s what makes a good book! This book is fictional yes, but it stands up against racism. It is pretty amazing how small minded these banning books people are! This book opens people’s eyes to the World and what it was/is/can be like!



2) Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling

 This one was a total surprise for me. I understand that these books can be a bit dark and scary, especially the later ones but say what?! Harry Potter is a major fictional role model for children…despite breaking every Hogwarts rule possible…
But this series teaches children about hope and belief and friendship and MAGIC! Hello! You cannot ban magic, okay?
EXPECTO PATRONUM!




1) James and the Giant Peach by Roahl Dahl

Another surprise for me! Like seriously, the genius that is ROAHL DAHL! How dare they ban anything by him?! I have read this book to a classroom full of children and each and every one of them had their big, bright eyes on me, listening intently to hear about James and the Giant Peach. Seriously, I love this book. The imagination is unbelievable!

WOO! That was this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, stay tuned for next week’s!
Leave a Reply

