An Ember in the Ashes · August · BookTube · Bookworm · Bookworms Buddy · first person · John Green · MrsJRodsReads · Multiple POV's · Papertowns · settings · third person · TT · Tuesday Talks

Tuesday Talks: AUGUST!

So today i’m bringing you multiple…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each Tuesday about a book-related topic.

And the month of August topics are:

What do you think of multiple POV’s in books?

I generally love multiple point of views in books. This basically means you hear from different characters perspectives in books, for example in Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin, we hear from several different characters. Sometimes we hear from just two different characters, like in These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

I love this form of writing because you aren’t stuck with the same character, you’re switching back and two. However, sometimes it is bittersweet because you may hate one character and love the other so you have to read the character you don’t like in order to be rewarded with a chapter from the character you like. If that makes any sense?

EXAMPLE:In the A Song of Ice and Fire series (a.k.a A Game of Thrones), I really love Daenerys, Tyrion and Jaime’s chapters. However, if I want to read these character’s chapters, I have to go through Sansa’s, Arya’s, Cersei’s and many other chapters to reach my favourite ones! I suppose this makes you really invest in a series as big as A Game of Thrones.


I do love flipping between two characters in books like These Broken Stars and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. Both of these books give you a perspective from a male and female character, which makes one hell of a difference, especially if they’re romantically involved! It’s nice to read two different perspectives of the same situation or ‘scene’.

What do you think?

Do you read beyond enjoyment? Why?

Unfortunately, I often read beyond enjoyment, meaning I push myself through a book even if i’m hating it. The sole reason that I do this is because I like to believe that all books have redeeming features or can have an ending that makes up for the shitty-ness in the middle.

EXAMPLE:Put the pitchforks away until after you read the whole paragraph. I really didn’t like The Maze Runner by James Dashner. No, just really no no NO! BUT, I read it until the end because I forced myself to read beyond enjoyment and it had a redeeming ending! I think the ended made up for how POO the rest of the book is. It made me want to continue with the series but not straight away. Maybe in the future…like 2020? 

What about you? 

What are your favourite settings for novels?

I don’t like the traditional. Like the majority of films are set in New York. NO! I want diversity, different countries, towns, cities, villages. Favourite settings are countries that you don’t hear about often and I like simple settings like a house, flat or cottage. I love nature, like the sea and forests. Give me nature description any day and i’ll gobble the story up!

What are yours?

First or third person? Which do you prefer?

This is a tricky one but my instinct is first person because it’s more personal and you’re reading it as if you are the person and think, feel, smell, touch and taste everything that character does.

However, if third person is done well it can be just as effective.

EXAMPLE:
Papertowns by John Green surrounds the character Quentin Jacobsen and Margo Roth Spiegelman. However, it is written in third person but from Quentin’s perspective if that makes sense? So Quentin is our main protagonist but John Green somehow makes third person still feel personal. Honestly, WOW! I need to read more John Green like now.

What about you?

That’s it for this month of Tuesday Talks! Hopefully service will resume with weekly Tuesday Talks in September but let’s wait and see before I make promises!

Also, make sure you answer my questions below and i’ll send you invisible cookies…

Leave a Reply

