ARC · Books · BookTube · Bookworms Buddy · library · MrsJRodsReads · Publishers · Reading · The Book Moo · TT · Tuesday Talks · YouTube

TUESDAY TALKS: Pros and Cons of ARC copies of books?

So today i’m bringing you a…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

Pros and Cons of ARC copies of books?

If you do not know what an ARC copy is, it stands for ‘Advanced Reader Copy’. They are sometimes called a proof copy and are given to reviewers before the release date of the book. This basically gives the book more hype and allows publishers and authors to hone their audience.

Pros
  • FREE BOOKS

This is obviously a pro to receiving ARC’s, you get a FREE BOOK. Who doesn’t love that idea?! But this mustn’t become the ONLY reason you actually want ARC’s. If you receive an ARC, then review it. Otherwise you’re being unfair to the author, publisher and bookish community!

  • EXPOSURE
Another pro is definitely the exposure you get for reviewing ARC’s. You will not believe the amount of people who will tune into your youtube channel or blog just to get a look at an upcoming release. It’s honestly amazing how the bookish community works and how much everyone encourages one another. This is definitely a pro that leads me to my next point.
  • CONNECTING
Overall, my favourite pro, has to be connecting. The World of social media is huge and seriously a great way of connecting with people across the World who otherwise you would have no chance to talk to. Receiving ARC’s is the main cause for unity in this community. I’m a poet and I don’t know it! Basically, if you receive an ARC and somebody is super excited about it, you get into conversation about the book and ARC’s and reviews and etc. This then causes something specifically known as ‘hype’.
  • BEFORE RELEASE HYPE
THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST POINT EVER! You actually get to hype about a book before it is even released. For example, I recently received an ARC copy of An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and reviewed it on my youtube channel and this blog. Seriously, the amount of hype around it is unbelievable because it is AMAZING. ARC’s give everyday people the opportunity to be excited and get a sneak peek into what is coming. Of course, this hype is what gives the books such a great start when they are first released.


Cons


  • TIME-FRAME
Okay so this may just be my dis-organisation that causes this con but we’ll include it anyway. Basically, I get myself all worried that I need to read the book by the deadline, and write a goodreads review/rating, and film a video review, and edit it, and upload it, and schedule it, and write a review on here, and check it, and label it, and ensure all links work etc… THE LIST IS ENDLESS! So much stress, just to review a book before it’s published. I sometimes find it is too close also, when I have at least a month to do all those things I feel happy, but when I have 2 weeks it is so stressful.
  • REVIEW CONTENT
This is a little paranoia on my part. I get really conscious about my review when it is an ARC, like it needs to be good. I need to ensure everything is perfect, that i’m not rambling, that it makes sense, that there’s a rating. Again, I feel nervous and stressed that it must be a great review.
  • REVIEW EXPECTATIONS
This is a biggy for the majority of reviewers I think. The expectation to enjoy the book and write a positive review. I don’t necessarily let this get in the way of reviewing my ARC copies, I go for the truth. If I didn’t like the ARC, I will list positives and talk about those first as best as I can and then finish with something like ‘I enjoyed this but unfortunately overall I didn’t enjoy the book. Everyone has a different opinion, so give it a go’. So I still try to encourage the reader to pick the book up, even though I didn’t enjoy it.

That’s it for this week’s Tuesday Talks, but tune in next week for another topic discussion.

Let me know what you think about ARC’s and if you want information on how to receive them, just drop me a comment below and i’ll be happy to help!
Leave a Reply

