Books · BookTube · Bookworms Buddy · characteristics · characters · Female protagonist · Heroine · MrsJRodsReads · TheBookMoo · TT · Tuesday Talks

TUESDAY TALKS: Favourite Characteristic of a female heroine/protagonist.

So today i’m bringing you a…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

What are your favourite characteristics of a female heroine/protagonist?

I’ve struggled with this question because I love certain characteristics of any character, not just female ones.

I would say that the main characteristic I love, is relation. The ability to connect to a character and feel empathy towards them. I feel like if you cannot relate to a character in a book in one way or another, the character feels one dimensional. A small amount of connection makes the world of difference to how much the reader enjoys a book.

The second characteristic is individuality. I want a main character who isn’t the same old same old. Someone who stands out from the crowd, has all the best intentions but in badass way. None of this goody goody, I can do no wrong crap. We all make mistakes, let characters make mistakes and do the ‘wrong’ thing. I think this is why I like Katherine Pierce from The Vampire Diaries so much, because she is simply bad but individual.

The final characteristic is no insta-love. This is more to do with the plot of a book, but in a way the characters have more power to stop insta-love. We’ve all read it before…

“My eyes sweep across the room and lock with his tall, dark, handsome build. He stares at me with those dark endless eyes, and I want him. I feel like I know him already. My heart melts and goosebumps creep along my spine. I shiver. He’s coming over to me.”

…and that’s when I sigh. Oh great, you’ve seen a boy, he’s seen you. BAM! You’re in love. Oh hell no! I want my characters to have more meat on the bones, more of a level-head. Basically not blinded by that sexy, tall, dark, handsome stranger who meets her eyes. She has a brain, use it authors!

Anyway, that’s all for Tuesday Talks this week. Let me know your own favourite characteristics below in the comments and i’ll catch you next week for another Tuesday Talks!

Leave a Reply

