Bookshelf · BookTube · Bookworms Buddy · Character Names · TT · Tuesday Talks

TUESDAY TALKS: How do you deal with hard to pronounce names of people and places?

So today i’m bringing you a…


This is set up by the wonderful Janie over at Bookworms Buddy, and Janelle at MrsJRodsReads. This really fun-to-do segment is basically, as the name implies, a talk each tuesday about a book-related topic.

And this week’s topic is:

How do you deal with hard to pronounce names of people and places?

Seriously.
I don’t.
I have major problems when a character has a name that I pronounce differently each time. When the film is released, it all comes crashing down and you’re like oh jeez, I pronounced their name wrong for the entire book. But whilst reading the book, there is normally no clue how to pronounce them!

A prime example is the A Song of Ice and Fire series, aka Game of Thrones. Daenerys was a huge problem for me, lovely name but how the hell to say it?! Then of course I watched the series and BAM! Until then, it was ‘khaleesi’ every time I referred to her.
Also, Catelyn Stark! It doesn’t really look hard to pronounce but I said “Kate-lynne” until I watched the show and it is in fact “Cat-lyn”.
There are wayyyy too many in Game of Thrones to mention all of them.

Also, if you aren’t a classical maniac, then the songs in If I Stay by Gayle Forman are a bit of a mouthful! I couldn’t pronounce half of the classical names. Note to self: must educate myself.

Although pronunciation can be a major problem, I find disliking a name can also have a big effect on your love of the book. For example, I loved The Program by Suzanne Young, but could not bring myself to like the name ‘Sloane’. It didn’t inhibit the story for me but it made the experience of reading a little bit tedious. But authors cannot please everyone, so let’s not complain!

Anyway, don’t forget to check out Janie and Janelle’s channels, linked at the top and of course my booktube channel right here. Slaterrrsssssss…
Leave a Reply

